NEC DVD Burner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: NEC DVD Burner

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166

    Unhappy NEC DVD Burner

    Hello everybody,
    I have the following problem:
    1 year ago I bought fujitsu-siemens laptop with dvd +-rw burner ND-6650A. I use Nero Burning Rom 7 Preminum for burning. When I try to erase a DVD it gives me an error: "Power Calibration Error" and then I cannot write this or other DVD, beacause ot tells me "Write error". I must restart to ne able to read a DVD. I tried reinstall the driver, change the DVD disk, Uninstall Nero 7 and install Nero 6 OEM (which is in the packet with the laptop), but the result is the same I also tried to update the driver and download update package from NEC, but it cannot recognize the burner. Could this be a software problem or it is a hardware ?
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hmmm,

    1. Will it burn a write only DVD?
    2. Will it burn a CD?
    3. Will it erase a RW CD?
    4. Will it burn a rewritable DVD that is fresh out of the box?

    Common causes of this sort of problem:

    1. Dirty lens in the burner.....................clean it.
    2. Poor quality media........try some other (quality) makes.
    3. Nero.............try different software.
    4. Firmware needs upgrading.
    5.ASPI drivers need updating..............try the Nero website.


    You might also try this from your Desktop (I am assuming Windows XP)
    • Start
    • control panel
    • administrative tools
    • services
    Go down to "IMAPI CD BURNING COM SERVICE" and click the arrow next to where it says "start up type" and then set it to "disabled"

    Don't forget to click "APPLY"

    Good Luck

    EDIT: If the burner came with the laptop then you should go to the laptop manufacturer's site not NEC for upgrades.
    Last edited by nihil; November 17th, 2006 at 02:38 PM.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    I tried to burn DVD+R of the same manifactur and it was succesful. May be the problem is only with DVD-RW disks. I tried to erase and write DVD-RW disk from different manifacture, but the result was the same error
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hmmm,

    Will it write to a new DVD RW which you don't try to erase?

    Also, try the IMAPI Service tweak I suggested.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    I tried the IMAPI tweak, tried to write new DVD from the same vendor (because now I have only these), but .. no success.

    Hmmm ... Interesting ... I just tried to erase this DVD-RW on other machine and there is no problem.
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Just a thought, what speed are you trying to do this at? The specifications say that it will burn at 6x for DVD-RW and 8x for DVD+RW.

    It is also supposed to handle CD burning.

    Can you:

    1. Try the test again at 4x speed setting.
    2. Get a CD RW and try the same test at 8x
    3. Get a DVD+RW and try it at 4x

    I am trying to figure out if it is the speed or the media is not being properly recognised.

    If you tried to burn the DVD-RW at 8x that might be the cause?

    By the way, when I am trouble shooting this sort of problem I normally go for minimum or half-speed
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    The DVD-RW disk has maximum 4x speed and I am trying to write it with 4x speed.
    Now I am trying to burn it with magicISO, because I have to Slackware 11 ISO-s and can't boot from them and I want to make it bootable, but it stay on 0% since 15-20min ago.
    Last edited by Barov4e; November 17th, 2006 at 04:28 PM.
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Aaaah!

    I think that I might have come across this before..............these devices are pretty temperamental and you can get different results with different media/burner combinations.

    If your media has a maximum of 4x, it is possible that your burner isn't particularly well calibrated and is burning a little bit faster at the 4x setting.

    Please try a test burn at 2x, as I have generally found that burning at a much reduced speed from the maximum for the burner AND the media should work. If it does not, then we know that we have a different problem

    Even now, I have a friend with an old burner that should burn at 4x maximum. He tried some 4x~8x media and it just wouldn't work. I gave him some old 1x~4x media that I had lying around and it worked just fine.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    That trick with the low speed didn't work, but I bought new DVD-RW and there is no problem yet. But the question is how the other burner erase and write the old DVD-RW (it has 5-10max cycles), but mine can't ?
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hello my friend..............to be perfectly honest, I cannot answer your question.

    I have seen a number of CD burning devices that worked fine for a number of months then suddenly stopped.........this would be a hardware failure of some sort?

    I guess the same goes for DVD burners?

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides