Problems Installing Debian
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problems Installing Debian

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53

    Problems Installing Debian

    Hello everyone. I am an amateur Linux user, though I have installed Debian millions of time in different computers including mine, the one with the problem :P. I recently downloaded the 2 DVDs of installation in the Debian official web page. I installed the first time and when everything got installed (I specify to only install Desktop Environment and Printer Server) I got to the prompt, I login and I write startx and it failed to start, it told me that the .xsession file was missing, ok I panic for 3 seconds then I copy the /usr/X11......intr (or something) and paste it in my home directory and then change the name to .xsession, this time startx just appear with a screen and the pointer could move but nothing more. Then I installed debian again, this time downloading the stuff, nothing from the DVD. When it was installing it had some problems with something (I don't remember) and now when I start the OS after doing some stuff the screen hangs up, is just black with the '_' at the top left corner.

    Hardware Specs:

    Pentium 4 3.0 GHz

    1024 MB RAM

    Geforce FX 5500

    ASRock Motherboard

    P.D.: I have installed Debian, SuSE and Mandrake before in this machine with no problems at all.

    P.D2.: Also I have a new LCD monitor, but is a generic one. And before I had a REAL generic monitor, could this new monitor be the source of problems?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    Also I have a new LCD monitor, but is a generic one. And before I had a REAL generic monitor, could this new monitor be the source of problems?
    Absolutely. The wrong refresh rates and/or no hardware support can cause terrible problems in Xwindows.

    --Th13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    Well I installed it again. And again it doesn't found .xsession or .Xsession. I will connect my old monitor again to see. By the way what refresh rates would be addecuate? I have 75 Hz. Is it too much?.

  4. #4
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    Check the specs on your hardware. This will dictate refresh rate.

    --Th13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    As a general hardware troubleshooting tip................ with video problems start with 60Hz and maybe 256 colours and work up from there
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    I will connect the old monitor again. The brand that made this monitors is really bad honestly, but it was a gift. Teorically it should work, but it doesn't. Thanks anyway for the help.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    Ok, now I'm losing my patience. I did all the process again, but this time with the old monitor and the same happen again. Also in the middle of the instalation it had problems configuring something, I tried to install the missing spot again but everything looks fine to apt, so what is happening no?

    P.D.: Antoher new piece of hardware is my wireless mouse and keyboard (Genius), but I did the installation with the keyboard perfect, and when I got a chance to see a pointer I could move it fine too, I don't think this the source of problems.

    Please help.

  8. #8
    Senior Member very_unhappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    149
    finally SOMETHING i can help w/

    what you need to do ... assuming that you've installed x in its entirety is to use debconf which is basically a means to reconfigure your system after everything is installed (and during)

    a template would be

    ... dpkg-reconfigure packagename (as root of course)

    so depending which x server you have installed you would so this

    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

    or

    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86

    after this follow the instructions

    DON'T USE FRAMEBUFFER NO MATTER WHAT

    by the way good choice on a distro ... but if you have problems w/ this you should really start w/ ubuntu and work your way up to more old-school distros
    Last edited by very_unhappy; November 30th, 2006 at 01:02 AM.
    /dev/humor: not found

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    Is just that I love Debian :P. I know I am a newbie but I just love it. And thanks a lot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides