Thread: Problems Installing Debian

Problems Installing Debian

Hello everyone. I am an amateur Linux user, though I have installed Debian millions of time in different computers including mine, the one with the problem :P. I recently downloaded the 2 DVDs of installation in the Debian official web page. I installed the first time and when everything got installed (I specify to only install Desktop Environment and Printer Server) I got to the prompt, I login and I write startx and it failed to start, it told me that the .xsession file was missing, ok I panic for 3 seconds then I copy the /usr/X11......intr (or something) and paste it in my home directory and then change the name to .xsession, this time startx just appear with a screen and the pointer could move but nothing more. Then I installed debian again, this time downloading the stuff, nothing from the DVD. When it was installing it had some problems with something (I don't remember) and now when I start the OS after doing some stuff the screen hangs up, is just black with the '_' at the top left corner.

Hardware Specs:

Pentium 4 3.0 GHz

1024 MB RAM

Geforce FX 5500

ASRock Motherboard

P.D.: I have installed Debian, SuSE and Mandrake before in this machine with no problems at all.

P.D2.: Also I have a new LCD monitor, but is a generic one. And before I had a REAL generic monitor, could this new monitor be the source of problems?

Thanks in advance.

Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Also I have a new LCD monitor, but is a generic one. And before I had a REAL generic monitor, could this new monitor be the source of problems?
    Absolutely. The wrong refresh rates and/or no hardware support can cause terrible problems in Xwindows.

--Th13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden