Running IE7 From The Command Line
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Running IE7 From The Command Line

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Gretna, LA
    Posts
    19

    Running IE7 From The Command Line

    I just wanted to know if anyone either knew of or a place to find the running options for IE7 through the command prompt. I have tried checking through the help files and also on Microsoft.com, but nothing yet. the only two I know is 'iexplore.exe' or 'iexplore.exe www.antionline.com '. If anyone knows of any other options such as multiple sites/tabs on startup please let me know. Thank you

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Not sure what you mean here.............

    Are you talking about the CSH Command Line Calls?

    They are not in IE7 as far as I know. IE6 was the last version to have that feature

  3. #3
    Member TheX1le's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil
    Not sure what you mean here.............

    Are you talking about the CSH Command Line Calls?

    They are not in IE7 as far as I know. IE6 was the last version to have that feature
    If this in indeed what you are trying to do.. Maby this will help
    http://kb.madcapsoftware.com/default...inName=Default
    ...."Cant stop the signal Mel, Every thing goes some where and i go every where."...... "From here to the eyes and the ears of the verse, thats my motto or might be if i start having a motto" - Mr. Universe "Serenity"

  4. #4
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    You mean you can no longer go Start > Run > iexplore?
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Gretna, LA
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Moira
    You mean you can no longer go Start > Run > iexplore?
    I can go that route, however what I want is a batch file, to open multiple sites which I routinely check, upon startup. right now, Im only able to call iexplore one time before the batch pauses and times out.

    "
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd program files
    cd internet explorer
    iexplore.exe www.yahoo.com

    iexplore.exe www.antionline.com
    "

    Unfortunatly as stated above, only yahoo.com is called, then the batch pauses and times out without ever calling antionline.com to be opened by iexplore.exe.

  6. #6
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Why not put multiple sites in the home page under tools

    put each page has on its own line

    each page will have its own tab

    then use you batch file to call IE??

    Or am I missing something????

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  7. #7
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    First, try replacing "cd .." with "cd /" to go straight to c:\ or whichever drive letter you're on. (Or even just "cd 'c:\program files\'")

    Second, try "start /?", which may help you when launching multiple programs. (Or cmd's /c /k options or whatevertheywere. My work comp is a Mac, so I can't check right now.)

    Better yet, just open multiple bookmarks. (Or another browser...)
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1

    Arrow ? Maybe this way?

    Wait lets think about this.... Why not just make a shortcut to each site you want open and then drag the shortcut link into the startup folder in "Start" Programs, Startup....that way if you decide you dont want one any more you can easily change it without editing a batch file.

  9. #9
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Why not just edit the home pages...and use tabs

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Gretna, LA
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Terr
    Second, try "start /?", which may help you when launching multiple programs.
    This was helpful. are you familiar with the '/b' parameter? if you are I couldnt seem to have that be useful. to everyone else, I am aware there are many ways to get the desire result, and do appreciate the input. The question however was asked not for the desired outcome, but for understanding of that particular path. basically, 'There is more than one way to skin a cat', I just happen to have a chainsaw I want to use.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •