Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: fans

fans

hi all,
    I have Thermaltake case with 5 fans and 1 fan on pcu.
    2 fans are in front and 2 on back of case and one on side window and one on pcu.
    what is the best configuration for fans (air intake-outtake)??
    thanks

I am no expert, but I would say, have the two in front as intake, the two in back as exaust, and the one for your cpu blowing the heat away from it... if someone knows of a better way, please correct me... but that seems like the most logical setup...
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

-HST

Hi,

Get an "exhaust fan"............. this is a flat device that fits into a space at the back, possibly where a PCI card would go, but on a large tower it would be below the MoBo.

These shift 40cfm or better, so you create a semi vacuum inside the case.

Please remember to regularly clean stuff (3 months) particularly if you have furry pets

Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Are you intending to run with the case closed or open?

I run mine with the case open so any fan I have blows into the case.

If you are going to run with the case closed you'll want an equal volume of cfm going in as coming out.

AMD athlon chips and heat sinks have the fan blow onto the chip which does <sarcasm> an excellent job of packing the heat sink with dust.</sarcasm>

I would think "pulling" the heat of the chip would be better.

Another consideration is the clearance from the sides of the case to the furniture housing it. The best fan in the world can't move air if its output is blocked.
    ddddc

"Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

In a closed case, it is generally it's better to have slightly more air being pushed in than pulled out. It balances in the end, of course, but by doing so you have a slight positive pressure within the case which means your case is less likely to get dusty.