problem with ie
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: problem with ie

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    26.55 N 75.52 E
    Posts
    25

    Exclamation problem with ie

    I have got win 2K, sp4 installed. i was having problem with ie 5 , as soon as i input password and press enter it shows the following err:

    "Microsoft Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

    den i installed ie 6 and still it shows the same err. When i click to see what err report contains, i get this:

    Error Signature
    AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2600.0 ModName: msvcrt.dll
    ModVer: 6.1.9844.0 Offset: 00001d0b

    i thought the prob is with msvcrt.dll version so i manually replaced the old file with new msvcrt.dll v 6.1.9844 but still have the same prob.
    Last edited by Alokpatidar; January 18th, 2007 at 04:53 PM.
    "Knowing how to do something that might be harmful is not the same as causing harm."

  2. #2
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    Sometimes the hardest problems have the simplest solutions, try typing "chkdsk /f" (without the quotes) in command prompt.
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  3. #3
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Have you tried repairing IE? http://www.theeldergeek.com/repair_ie6.htm

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    26.55 N 75.52 E
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by JPnyc
    Have you tried repairing IE? http://www.theeldergeek.com/repair_ie6.htm
    This link is only for Win xp sp2, i didnt find any link for win2k sp4.
    "Knowing how to do something that might be harmful is not the same as causing harm."

  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    I have had alot of problems with IE lately so i changed to firefox. But im using Xp with beta7. Havent used IE5 for long.

    I have used that repair ultility and worked for me.

    I found this site, might not be useful but gives some advice:

    http://www.more.net/technical/unsupp...owsers/ie.html
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    IE5? I sure hope you didn't use that version to do your online banking..

    Are you sure your machine is free from any ad- or spyware?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    You might have a look at these:

    http://www.techspot.com/tweaks/IE6/index.shtml

    http://forum.worldstart.com/archive/...p/t-26319.html

    You will need to be logged in as administrator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •