64 bit tryin to downgrade to 32 xp pro
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 64 bit tryin to downgrade to 32 xp pro

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    64 bit tryin to downgrade to 32 xp pro

    alright at this point in time i have windows XP Pro X64 edition which is giving me some problems with all sorts of things and i have a copy of regular 32 bit pro but when i put in the CD and try to install it it wont let me. is there any way around this other than just wiping the HD and booting from the CD?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    442
    no, windows does not allow you to (easily) downgrade

  3. #3
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    I have heard of people using virtual machine software, but they had the 32 bit version as the main OS.

    That is also how you set up dual booting of Windows versions, you need to load the oldest one first.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Bottom line is you cant do it easily. It would take a very long time to do it all manually by replacing files and registry keys...

  5. #5
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    I am running XP-64 on vmplayer and have overcome many problems. What problems are you having. I may be able to help.

    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    My machine is running XP-64 for some time now.. So tell us your problems, we may be able to help.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    well i went to driveragent.com to check my drivers because i was having problems b4 and i updated some of the drivers that it recommended but my comp. still randomly freezes on a fairly regular basis.

  8. #8
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Overclocking? Bad RAM stick?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides