Need to test wireless network security
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need to test wireless network security

Need to test wireless network security

Hi there

I'm a newbie to networking and I do apologise if I've posted in the wrong part of the forum.

What I'd like to do ethically is hack into the wirless network in the hotel where I work, obviously to see wether or not the network is secure

The hotel has just had a pay to surf wireless network put in so guests can access the net with their wirless enabled laptops etc.

Please can anyone show me how to do this and what software I'd need. I'll be using a latop with Windows XP installed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

hey, welcome to AO...

have you checked with the hotel to see if they are ok with this? I know you probably have the best intentions... but management might not see it that way. I would strongly suggest checking with them before doing any kind of pen testing. just a thought.

westin
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

-HST

Well obviously if you would want to thoroughly and properly test the security, you would need to hire a "professional hacker" to do the job for you.
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

Yeah I would check with your employer first. I know you're trying to help but they might see it differently.

Theres no need. All security features of existing wireless networks have all ready been "tested". Why not just read up on the network type they have employeed. If you wanting to know if the wireless wep/wap keys can be broke, then really why would you have to test it? They are all pretty much standard. meh.