Help with vnc wireless connection?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help with vnc wireless connection?

  1. #1
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570

    Question Help with vnc wireless connection?

    Goodday all,
    I have a small problem with running vnc ver4. over a wireless connection.Distance is about 400km .Is it possible or not?We have tried various options ,using ip adress,granted permissions through firewall of zonealarm,switched off zonealarm altogether and so on..If it is not possible is there any other software i can try..

    thx
    vanman
    Practise what you preach.

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    What kind of wireless connection? 400km? Using Wifi? Forget about VNC, forget about any kind of connection using Wifi..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    I don't quite understand. What kind of wireless connection? Are you trying to connect one machine directly to the second? (AD-HOC?) Or, are you trying to connect a machine to a wireless network and then VNC into a remote machine?

    802.11b/g connections generally only have 100m (330ft) at best.


    Please provide more details about your setup.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  4. #4
    Senior Member RoadClosed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,834
    VNC shouldn't care what is going on at the transport level. There may be latency issues? Were VNC times out before the distant server responds? I am sure you can ping the remote? VNC server set to accept remote connections? VNC is also detected as spyware and could be shut down via windows antispyware or Mcaffee etc. As long as you have the transort layer established which means you can ping something faster than say 10000, it's most likely something else. Like the wireless router or your admin blocking VNC via packet inspection.
    Last edited by RoadClosed; January 30th, 2007 at 09:56 PM.
    West of House
    You are standing in an open field west of a white house, with a boarded front door.
    There is a small mailbox here.

  5. #5
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by phishphreek80
    Or, are you trying to connect a machine to a wireless network and then VNC into a remote machine?
    Here in South Africa it is called radionet..I have a wireless connection to my isp in town 320kb/sec about 5km away..They have a tower on a grain silo which is the highest point in town..So my guess would be that i connect through the ap at the silo to them in town(their server i mean)..My son works at Sun International at Sun City(for those who do not know it is where they played the Nedbank golf challenge a few weeks back and more recently the womens challenge..)anyway he has a 4mb/sec uncapped wireless connection more or less the same as mine and i am trying to connect directly into his pc..

    The main reason for us trying is that my wife works for a dr,s practise about 2km away from my house and she asked me to try and set up a vnc connection or any kind of remote connection that would enable her to work from home connecting to their pc at work..I have used it between 2 pc,s on a close lan setup by cable about 20meters apart and it worked just fine..

    thx again
    Practise what you preach.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Godsrock37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    121
    if i understand your setup, you connect to your town's public wifi to get internet access, your son connects to via wifi to get to the internet, and you wanna vnc to him. if thats the case then i think i get it.

    a couple of problems come to mind at first glance.

    First: his bandwidth is 4mb/s uncapped. what is his upload speed. its probably fine if he has 4 mb/s download (im assuming thats what you mean) but upload determines how fast your going to be able to see the computer. I have connected to my vnc server with only 60kb/s and it works all right with low resolution, but its something to look into and find out

    Second: the network he's connecting to (via wireless i think you said), its possible that it could filter out incoming connections to the computers connected to it. when you try to connect to him on port 5900 (vnc) you send a syn packet, most Internet Service Providers block common service ports, and some all syn packets all together, others allow everything. So thats another good thing to know.
    Last edited by Godsrock37; January 31st, 2007 at 01:21 AM.
    if God was willing to live all out for us, why aren't we willing to live all out for Him? God bless,
    Godsrock37
    my home my forum

  7. #7
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    Evening all,
    First of all thx for all the quick responses.This is what makes AO and i think we are a unique group of ppl and we discussed this a year or two back..It is definitely not!!!about antipoints but credited when thoroughly deserved..Sorry guys a bit of the old politics lol..

    Okay..sigh feeling better now..Roadclosed i do get a timeout error when we try to connect and as far as the spyware goes like i said i use zonealarm and we shut it down completely because it has a built in spyware scanner etc..I am going to try and ping him later(have not done it yet)but we connect fine through skype for video and chatting etc..

    I personally think it is like you and godsrock37 said it is most likely blocked on the server..I remember the guy telling me that they do block all porn as well as kazaa,any peer to peer connections,limewire etc..Does this tell you more??

    cheers
    vanman
    Practise what you preach.

  8. #8
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570

    Thumbs up

    Greetings again,
    Sorry for coming back at such a late stage but anyway we found a sollution for time being that works..After some internet searching and trying various methods of connecting to one another my son suggested we try Hamachi,which is also virtual network controlling software found here.http://www.hamachi.cc/compare.php

    It gives you a unique ip adress and it works..We even tried vnc while connected through hamachi..also works fine..From what i can see it installs a seperate virtual network card from where everything is operated if i understand it correctly..Please try this and let me know what your take is on this..

    cheers
    vanman
    Practise what you preach.

  9. #9
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Used hamachi for abit of gaming, wasnt too bad.

    BTW: Vanman, stormers > cheetahs.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    Cheetas..My wife and yougest son are cheeta fans and myself and my eldest son are sharkies..so imagine the healthy atmosphere when games are played..lol.When cheetas play any other opponents accept the sharks we support them and the other way around as well..

    You are a stormer i suppose?
    Practise what you preach.

Similar Threads

  1. Suspicious Traffic being reported in FW logs
    By Gixxer in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: July 28th, 2006, 10:20 PM
  2. breaking tru firewall
    By red_budha in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 1st, 2006, 07:16 PM
  3. Wireless 101
    By mmelby in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2002, 02:31 PM
  4. Writing your own web server.
    By ntsa in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 5th, 2002, 04:48 PM
  5. Outpost bug?
    By kadeng in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 25th, 2002, 10:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides