Moving Windows from one system to another
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Moving Windows from one system to another

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28

    Unhappy Moving Windows from one system to another

    Hi!

    I traid to move windows from one laptop(fujitsu,siemens) to other laptop(hp)
    but I could not do that.

    I copied nassery windows files to the new HD and traid to do rapair to change
    serial key, but when Windows logo came up I got unspessifed error(blue screen) message like= "Windows got problem and cannot continue"
    I do not know what to do

    Do you have any ideas how to do by pass that blueDeath?

    Is it possible?
    never know

  2. #2
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    I am assuming this is XP??

    You cannot transfer "windows" from one machine to another...

    You will have to format and install from scratch...then transfer the documents\data you need after the install is complete.

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    Ok.

    But is it possible to transfer software and user comfiguration data so that it will look like before? I mean without reainstalling of programs, just by moving?
    XP-pro to XP-pro with different serials...

    ...Outlook, office, desktop settings.....
    never know

  4. #4
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    What are you running....there is a function within XP Pro (not sure about XP Home) the allows you to transfer files and system settings.
    accessories>system tools> File and Settings Transfer wizard.....although I have never used it

    You can export your favorites and email, address book and settings also from Outlook and IE...and I am sure FF has that feature also.

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  5. #5
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    FAST wizard will take all your files and settings :doh:
    and when you drop it onto your new laptop, it will be configured just as the old one was

    I used it a lot when doing school support, and had to swap laptops around between teachers

    it's kinda slow, and there are other apps out there, but FAST is in windows waiting
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there Mark, hope things are well with you and yours

    Hey migik, long time no see, how are ya?.......... Happy New Year my little faun (Chronicles of Narnia?)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    To Foxyloxley:
    I forgot about this feature, I like to hardmove files.
    And I never before traid this fetaure before. But I will do it next time.
    Thank you.

    To nihil:
    Ye, I was gone for a while. I have'nt internet, just a radio, too poor.
    But I will get new work soon, I hope. Must study hard and more.
    I will be here more often when life will be better , damn that life.
    never know

  8. #8
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Actually I always found the files and settings transfer wizard to be particularly useless .... but you can copy application data for programs like Thunderbird, Firefox, FTP and ini files for Mirc and Trillian - that sort of thing, so that all your settings are immediately configured like your other PC. You need to install and open the program concerned first, ie Firefox, then it will have a folder in Application Data (a hidden folder in Documents and Settings under your username). Just copy the folder in Application Data on your old install and replace the folder in the new Application Data location on your new Windows install. Other programs might involve copying ini files from Program files - but basically there's a lot you can do to avoid setting absolutely everything up from scratch again.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  9. #9
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    I have never used the wizard either....

    I usually just grab the profiles and export settings from the apps.

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    you should have used software imaging like acronis true image workstation with universal restore .. this will make exact image from source laptop to destination regardless of configuration

Similar Threads

  1. The history of the Mac line of Operating systems
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 7th, 2004, 08:02 AM
  2. Playing with Windows
    By gizmofreak in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 7th, 2003, 06:43 PM
  3. OSs: What're they all about?
    By Jehnny in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 15th, 2003, 02:49 AM
  4. Solaris Hardening
    By R0n1n in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 20th, 2002, 02:20 PM
  5. Traceroute: under the hood
    By antihaxor in forum Non-Security Archives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 24th, 2002, 05:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •