Vista black screen key combo
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Vista black screen key combo

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168

    Vista black screen

    Allright so I was screwing with vista home premium, playing with the alt-tab eye candy thingy, and i broke vista. This only seems to work with media center open, but i pressed alt + tab + windows logo key and the screen went black with my cursor in the middle.

    All I could think of was "Once your screen goes black, it never goes back"

    So I pressed alt + tab and it went back. OK.... Interesting. So i did it a few more times trying to get a screen capture. Well I did it and this time i heard my monitor click like it turned off. Now it has the message on the screen which moves around and says "Please Check PC Display Settings". Light on the monitor is still green. Well it does nothing now. Gotta hard boot and play with this some more.

    Anyone else able to verify this?
    Last edited by Darksnake; February 5th, 2007 at 07:07 AM.
    <chsh> I've read more interesting technical discussion on the wall of a public bathroom than I have at AO at times

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Know-it-All Master Beaver

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    Hey Hey,

    I've got Vista Ultimate running on my laptop.. I attempted to recreate this however I was unsuccessful... I even went so far as to plug in a USB Keyboard so that I would have the Windows Key + Tab functionality.. (I wish that my keyboard A) Had a Windows Key or B) I could make that the default Alt + Tab Functionality)... But yeah.. no luck recreating it.

    Peace,
    HT
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    /
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by Darksnake
    All I could think of was "Once your screen goes black, it never goes back"
    I laughed, now where's the tissues to clean the alchohol from the screen..?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    Hmmm,
    I do have ultimate running on my other desktop. Maybe i'll try it in Ultimate see if I get the same thing.
    Oh and it only does it if you press them just right, normally takes me 3 tries to get it to go black. I'll let you know how the ultimate goes, for now I have class.
    <chsh> I've read more interesting technical discussion on the wall of a public bathroom than I have at AO at times

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Slackware Linux 9.1
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: June 5th, 2005, 07:24 PM
  2. Slackware 10.1
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 27th, 2005, 07:25 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 5th, 2004, 08:26 AM
  4. Installing Slackware Linux
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 17th, 2004, 01:29 PM
  5. Installing Libranet Linux
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 29th, 2004, 07:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides