To Vista or not to Vista? that is the question?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: To Vista or not to Vista? that is the question?

  1. #1
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190

    To Vista or not to Vista? that is the question?

    I am not sure whether this belongs here, or in "Hardware" as it covers a bit of both.

    An interesting discussion on whether to go to Vista for a new machine, or to stick with the old XP OS?

    http://news.zdnet.com/2100-3513_22-6161250.html
    Last edited by nihil; February 24th, 2007 at 10:10 AM. Reason: typo :( more accurately, a "wino" :)

  2. #2
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    A difficult decision altogether i think,as was the case with all the other releases of windows too..Just when you get comfortable using the one the next release is only weeks away..I have also noticed here in SA that flyers from leading pc retailers now sell vista with most of their new pc,s or recommend it..My personal choice would be to still have XP PROF and make a dual boot with VISTA.That way you can gradually move towards vista when you are good and ready..Question though from my side anyway is..are they going to share and talk to one another??
    Practise what you preach.

  3. #3
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    That's the setup I currently have on my pcs. The laptop only has 2 days to go till activation and I still haven't received my free upgrade from moduslink yet, so I guess that machine will be XP until I receive the offiicial copy (I just put on the copy I bought for my main PC for now). I might even try activating it - chances are MS won't be too fussy.

    My SFF has a dual boot which is very much an XP pro machine with just a small partition for Vista Ultimate. It's the computer the kids use and I don't think other users will want to grapple with Vista yet. My dual core here is just running Vista Home Premium which is going very well indeed. It didn't seem to like dual booting with XP, so I plan to put Suse or Ubuntu on the space I'd set aside for XP tomorrow.

    I'm happy that my own computer is running Vista so well, I don't need to think about having XP on at all, as I've got completely used to Vista now. I find the various computers talk to each other extremely well - the data drives can be seen whether I've booted into Vista or XP on the SFF for instance. In fact the operating system drives/partitions are visible too. Right now, I'm making an Acronis image backup of the XP OS on the laptop and storing it on the F drive on the SFF, which is currently booted into Vista Ultimate, but I'd be able to do exactly the same operation if I had the PC booted into XP.

    Vista isn't really that big a change from XP - nothing like Windows 3.1 to 95, or 98/Me to XP was. It doesn't take long to get used to.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  4. #4
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Vista runs optimal @ 4gb ram, so it might be a better idea to wait abit and then upgrade fully
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    wait, sp1 should be out in 4 - 6 months then go for vista after the worst bugs are out
    Who is more trustworthy then all of the gurus or Buddha’s?

  6. #6
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    I don't think you need 4GB RAM. I read a slashdot link where somebody was discussing this and one of the MS techs said she was personally going to go for 2GB, which most people reckon is sufficient. My PCs have 2GB RAM (though I don't play games) and they run Vista just fine. Actually the laptop has 1.5GB and this is OK too. Sure it would be nice to have 4GB RAM, a faster processor and a leet graphics card, but you don't *need* that. What they do reckon is that Vista runs slower than XP with only 512GB RAM and I'd agree with that, seeing how much RAM is being used by the system when I run it.

    It does seem a sensible idea to wait for the first service pack though - it's very buggy at the moment and the hardware suppor is a nightmare.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    33
    I'd LOVE to have 512GB of Ram in this laptop...and in all my other computers for that matter.

  8. #8
    Junior Member greygnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Watertown, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    19
    I usually give it 6mo to a year for ms to work out a bunch of the bugs that seem to be par for the course as far as their new release os's go.
    Y Gwir Yn Erbyn Byd

  9. #9
    Blast From the Past
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    729
    i work for a PC retailer, bestbuy

    the reason why they reccomend vista? because of the multimedia abilities
    "you can attach a new digital camera, an mp3 player, a big screen tv, all to a multimedia center vista pc"

    it makes money, although its hell for geeksquad... nothing is compatible, everything takes longer to accomplish, customers do not understand that when something is not compatible there is nothing we can do untill the vendo fixes the problem

    the managers don't understand that either and we are getting sh1t for vista sucking so hard...

    sry.. went off on a work rant

    Vista has potential, but for the love of god if you depend on your pc for work or play stay away from vista for now
    work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider
    Vista runs optimal @ 4gb ram...
    lol...

    However W98 gets all fuxy when you go over 750mb....

    Connection refused, try again later.

Similar Threads

  1. Yahoo email account comprimised by secret question
    By dolemite in forum Web Security
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 15th, 2004, 12:14 AM
  2. Question Time
    By jm459 in forum Tech Humor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 14th, 2004, 02:41 PM
  3. Maximum performance question
    By Fasheezy in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 5th, 2004, 04:25 PM
  4. Test Your General Linux Knowledge
    By smirc in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 13th, 2002, 05:35 PM
  5. Test Your Knowledge of Redhat?
    By smirc in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 13th, 2002, 04:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •