dcsimg
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 67

Thread: Have you switched to Vista?

  1. #21
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Yeah if it works with Vista! So far I haven't found one that does, nor anyone else who knows of one.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    Quote Originally Posted by JPnyc
    What's your view of Kapersky's FW, HT? I know their detection rating where AV is concerned, but they're not known for firewalls.
    That's an excellent question... Unfortunately, I've never used it... I've always ran a Linux firewall at the front of my network and when I was running a firewall on my desktop it was always VisNetic which I've been a big fan of...
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  3. #23
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    I'm thinking of trying it. I've already tried their AV and it makes every other one I've tried seem like very modest protection (which they probably are). I used to think panda's online scan was pretty thorough (for an online scan it probably is).

  4. #24
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    I'm still waiting for my free upgrade, as is Moira, though I'm unsure of if or when I'll upgrade.

    The corporate world, as I understand it, is waiting for SP1 to be released to avoid the initial bugs.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  5. #25
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi, allenb1963,

    My thinking is that if you have paid for a machine with XP and have a "free" Vista upgrade, what you have actually done is bought a Vista machine that they have temporarily installed XP on, so that they could get the sale into that fiscal period

    In that circumstance, providing I did not have a particular reason to keep XP, I would go with the upgrade. A word of warning: If you have connected any legacy devices please be careful............... there is a lot of legacy stuff out there that will work with XP but won't with Vista, so check that you can get Vista drivers, or that you can at least access the device via an OS that does recognise it.

    I won't be upgrading any of mine.............. I have already paid perfectly good money for their current OSes and they work just fine for me. Also, looking at the upgrade costs of the hardware, I would get a far better "bang per buck" using the money to buy a couple of new systems. And I am I tight arsed bar steward, so I won't end up throwing anything away

    I guess quite a lot of people are taking the view that this really isn't an "upgrade" situation in the true sense. This is a "start afresh" scenario, which Apple's marketeeers seem to have hit on

    It isn't just SP1 here, there is a major hardware spend required for a lot of businesses, so they will wait until they are going to schedule that.

    Just my £0.02

  6. #26
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Ok, I've DLed Kapersky's firewall, giving it the once over, twice.

  7. #27
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Quote Originally Posted by JPnyc
    I used to think panda's online scan was pretty thorough (for an online scan it probably is).
    I tried that and found it incredibly thorough - it took ages!
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  8. #28
    T3h 1337 N00b kryptonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, Washington.
    Posts
    523
    I recently switched to Vista Business. Its not that bad except for the fact that internet explorer crashes alot.

  9. #29
    ********** |ceWriterguy
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,608
    Once the price range for Vista drops out of the stratosphere (home premium, not basic - what's the point with basic?) and gets reasonable, I'll make the move.

    As for my clients, about 1 in 5 have vista now - so I'm troubleshooting more, usually driver issues, but a few lockups from system-lost passwords.
    Even a broken watch is correct twice a day.

    Which coder said that nobody could outcode Microsoft in their own OS? Write a bit and make a fortune!

  10. #30
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    Anybody using Vista's volume license yet? Supposedly it's a different
    animal from XP's volume license. I've had my nephew check the university
    bookstore for Vista, but they don't offer it for sale yet. I fear the volume
    license for Vista will not be so easy to use. MS lost some serious jack
    on their XP volume license.

    And then I'm gonna need some new hardware...
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Vista gaming, shooting blanks?
    By acidtone in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 14th, 2007, 02:14 PM
  2. Microsoft's new anti-piracy technology...
    By brokencrow in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 05:44 PM
  3. Cracking Windows Vista Beta 2 Local Passwords (SAM and SYSKEY)
    By Irongeek in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 06:17 AM
  4. It's getting closer and closer to upgrade time
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 10th, 2006, 11:32 PM
  5. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 04:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •