nmap-4.21ALPHA4: need help to set NMAPDIR
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: nmap-4.21ALPHA4: need help to set NMAPDIR

  1. #1
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    795

    nmap-4.21ALPHA4: need help to set NMAPDIR

    Hello fellow members of AO. Earlier tonight I downloaded and compiled the latest version of nmap for my Linux Redhat 9.0 box. And I ran it against another box on my LAN. The issue IM having is with the message before the scan. However, here is the output:



    Starting Nmap 4.21ALPHA4 ( http://insecure.org ) at 2007-03-24 17:36 EST
    Warning: File ./nmap-protocols exists, but Nmap is using /usr/local/share/nmap/nmap-protocols for security and consistency reasons. set NMAPDIR=. to give priority to files in your local directory (may affect the other data files too).
    Interesting protocols on 192.168.1.100:
    Not shown: 253 open|filtered protocols
    PROTOCOL STATE SERVICE
    5 open
    4 open
    3 open
    MAC Address: 00:0F0:15:00:35 (LINKSYS Technology)

    Nmap finished: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 7.114 seconds

    [someone@yourmomshouse.com nmap-4.21ALPHA4]#


    1.) How do I set NMAPDIR= to give priority to files in my local directory?

    This version of nmap still works excellent.

    All help is greatly appreciated. cn22
    Last edited by Computernerd22; March 25th, 2007 at 09:54 PM.

  2. #2
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    795
    Someone must know. I know IM not the only one who uses/runs nmap for a Unix/Linux distro.

    Sorry for double posting Moderators but this thread was at the very end on the index.html page (front page) with no replies for 2 days. I tried to edit it to update it but it didnt work. So I am double posting it. I need some assistance on this seriously.
    All help is greatly appreciated. CN22
    Last edited by Computernerd22; March 25th, 2007 at 10:00 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    34
    Hi,
    I don't know the answer,so i will not mislead you .
    try posting it in the nmap dev mailing list
    ---------------------------
    www.IndiaEsecure.com

  4. #4
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Maybe I'm dense but isn't the error telling you:

    set NMAPDIR=. to give priority to files in your local directory (may affect the other data files too).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  5. #5
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    795
    Maybe I'm dense but isn't the error telling you:

    set NMAPDIR=. to give priority to files in your local directory (may affect the other data files too).
    Exactly.

  6. #6
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    From what I recall, this message only appears for the first 10 or so scans then goes away. I remember Fyodor mentioning this on the mailing list eons ago.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    34
    Hi,
    From what I recall, this message only appears for the first 10 or so scans then goes away. I remember Fyodor mentioning this on the mailing list eons ago.
    When.....any link perhaps?
    ---------------------------
    www.IndiaEsecure.com

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    34
    Hi,
    A little googling helped
    Mabey this reply is too simple but here goes anyway ... that NMAPDIR looks to me like an environment variable ... why not try setting this before you run nmap

    export NMAPDIR=/path/to/your/liking

    the above assumes your running bash, any other shell you may be using will have to be set accordingly ..

    Cass
    Source
    http://security-forums.com/viewtopic...f6c056fc5676a1

    You are not the same guy, are you ?
    ---------------------------
    www.IndiaEsecure.com

  9. #9
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    795
    Source
    http://security-forums.com/viewtopic...f6c056fc5676a1

    You are not the same guy, are you ?
    Yea buddy. Thats my brother from another mother.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Noida
    Posts
    34
    Hi,
    So did it work ?
    ---------------------------
    www.IndiaEsecure.com

Similar Threads

  1. Nmap 4.0
    By Irongeek in forum Security News
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 31st, 2006, 10:24 PM
  2. NMAP 3.90 Released!
    By thehorse13 in forum IDS & Scanner Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 10th, 2005, 06:38 AM
  3. NMAP 3.48 Tutorial - Lesson 5 - Fingerprinting & scanning
    By thehorse13 in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: November 27th, 2003, 12:54 AM
  4. A basic NMAP tut.
    By Pooh-Bear in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 13th, 2001, 09:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •