Old hard drive new system - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 12 of 12

Thread: Old hard drive new system

  1. #11
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    OK Andy,

    The first step is to see if we can get the old drive recognised by the BIOS.

    Set it up as a slave (it should have a jumper switch?) and attach it to the second slot on the ribbon cable (the one half way along). If your primary drive does not have a jumper (some don't these days) then you will probably be best off setting the old drive to CS (cable select).

    Boot into "setup" (BIOS) and on the first page you should see your basic system details which will include the drives that BIOS has detected.

    Does it report that the slave drive is there? If it doesn't there should be an option down the bottom to "autodetect drives".......... please run that.

    If that doesn't work, there should be an option for manual settings........you could try adding it manually?..............you will need to tell it the same information as you see for the master drive, but that apply to the old drive (capacity cylinders etc.) You should be able to find them on the label on the drive.

    Incidentally, what was the message you got when you tried to install the old drive as "master"?

    EDIT: In answer to your question, the "firmware" should not matter. Your BIOS should recognise your hardware before your operating system loads.

    Whilst firmware can be an issue with running or managing hardware from within your operating system, it is not used by your BIOS.
    Last edited by nihil; April 2nd, 2007 at 06:30 PM.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7
    magic guys, it works.. cant think why it never the last time.. strange, have got my files and i am now in the middle of formatting it.

    thanks again!

Similar Threads

  1. Tcp/ip
    By gore in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 29th, 2003, 07:01 AM
  2. Windows Pc Data Security
    By nihil in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 24th, 2003, 02:04 AM
  3. How Does XP System Restore Work?
    By Summer in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 5th, 2003, 04:32 AM
  4. CMOS commands
    By qwerty_smith in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2002, 06:29 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 15th, 2002, 03:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides