bios update problems
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: bios update problems

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    129

    bios update problems

    Hi all, as many of you know i was having tons of minidumps etc... well i found a bios update and had to hit alt + f2 to flash it from my floppy, anyways I watched it and all said sucessful at the end and now it won't boot lol, I reset the cmos, numerous times, (beer after beer) unpluged alot of unneeded hardware, and so on, took cmos battery out and unplugged power cord for 24+ hours, thinking my last solution is to hotflash the bios or get another board, I never hotflashed a bios, and the cpu Im on is probably to old or something to do that anyways, the shop says it would cost more then buying a new board, so as usuall I'm here to get the answer from the pros lol thanks

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    /
    Posts
    385
    Are you sure that you flashed it with the correct update?

    as it's sounding like you just scored yourself a nice expensive paper weight.

  3. #3
    Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    797
    When you say "won't boot" what is the indication?

    Any POST beeps?

    Any display at all?

    If its a "no system disk" type message then you need to go into setup and manually tell the BIOS what drives you have and what order you want them to boot up with.

    When you flashed it did the utility back up the old bios, you could reflash the old one back.
    ddddc

    "Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi David,

    As ddddc says, what exactly do you mean by "won't boot"............. do you mean won't boot into your operating system or just won't even go into BIOS?

    Please have a look at this:

    http://www.bootdisk.com/

    If you can get it to boot from a Win98 or DOS floppy you might have a chance of doing a "manual" re-flash.

    As you are saying "Alt-F2", I guess that you must have some sort of Award BIOS?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    eugh. flashing things scares me enough without worrying about it being on a floppy. Disk isn't corrupt is it?
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi Aard~,

    My thinking is that if you cannot to get it to boot from external media............. well at least read that for a re-flash, then he has "bricked" his machine?

    I have used Gigabyte boards for years.............for at least the last five, they have had dual EEPROM BIOS chips............ one screws and you can load from the backup?

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    129
    hi all thanks for the replys, when I say don't boot, I meen no pics or letters anything on the monitor, the grren led light on the monitors dies quickly to yellow, diffrent video card same prob, all fans and such powerup, and after a few minutes sounds like the harddrive is beeping, but no harddrive probs as i have installed on the cpu im on now, i think i just need a new board

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi David~

    I am afraid that you do. When it gets that bad it means that the BIOS EEPROM chip is zapped........ the solution would be to get a de-soldering gun, remove it, and replace it with a working one (assuming that you could get one)

    The guys in the shop are right, economy says buy a new MoBo
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. May 06 security patches
    By mohaughn in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 13th, 2006, 10:17 PM
  2. Copying updates
    By Cider in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 21st, 2006, 08:30 PM
  3. Why I put Slackware on my Free BSD box
    By gore in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: December 8th, 2005, 05:53 PM
  4. August security hotfixes
    By mohaughn in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 9th, 2005, 07:37 PM
  5. Laptop Bios Password Problems
    By draco of shadow in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 20th, 2004, 12:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •