Modems & Remote Admin
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Modems & Remote Admin

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166

    Modems & Remote Admin

    Hi,
    Here is my problem. I have four computers with modems. I want pc11 to communicate with pc12 and pc21 - with pc22. The trick is to make all this to work with 1 phone line. I am attaching a simple graphic of what I want.

    Best regards!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    There's a way to connect two modems directly to each other. Can't remember how to do it though, I'll see if I can dig that up. You can forget about hooking up 4 though, that just isn't going to work. You'll need a PBX and even then you won't be able to hook all of them up simultaneously.

    Modems/serial lines create point to point connections. What you want is more or less a shared/bus like connection a la ethernet.
    Last edited by SirDice; April 3rd, 2007 at 10:50 AM.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    If this can help - I need modem11 to communicate only with modem12 and modem21 only to communicate with modem22.
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Then why use modems? Just use 2 null modem cables.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    I am open to suggestion. What is the trick with these null modems. I want to say that it must be by phone line, because the distance is several kMs.
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    What sort of modems are they.............56.6 dial-up or broadband (DSL/ADSL)?

    Null modem cables are for local connections over short distances, so they won't work for you IMO.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Ah.. Is there a "real" telephone network between the modems?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    They are dial up modems.
    SirDice what do you mean "real" telephone network? The cable is from the telecommunication company.
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

  9. #9
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hmmm, I suspect that they will be WinModems as well, so you won't find a router that will play nice with them.

    I guess that leaves you with something like ICS:

    http://www.homenethelp.com/ics/
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    166
    How ICS can help me? Actually I want to connect modem11 and modem12 via RAdmin (or something similar) and modem21 and modem22 in such way.
    BGDevS
    [gloworange]www.peaksoft.info [/gloworange]

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 02:51 PM
  2. Trojans - Ports
    By GbinaryR in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 30th, 2008, 10:33 AM
  3. Port List
    By ThePreacher in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: December 14th, 2006, 09:37 PM
  4. Network Security made easy?
    By Tiger Shark in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2005, 08:47 PM
  5. ports
    By hatebreed2000 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 14th, 2003, 06:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •