mobo / cpu problem - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: mobo / cpu problem

  1. #11
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    If you use the Asus update utility it should tell you how to make the bootable floppy. Please follow the instructions very carefully.

    You should be able to boot from this, as it will not load a lot of stuff that you don't need for the BIOS updating process.

    You will need to go into your BIOS setup first and check the boot sequence. The floppy drive should be first.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    http://support.asus.com/technicaldoc...Language=en-us
    here's the update page. It says to put it on a floppy, then run it in DOS, but I can't get to DOS. (its not a boot floppy)

    The utility CD won't install the utility because my other computer doesn't have an asus mobo.

    The linux boot cd didn't work, when it went passed the menu, the exact same thing happened.
    Last edited by metguru; April 7th, 2007 at 03:17 PM.

  3. #13
    Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    797
    I've been lurking on this thread trying to come up with a useful idea.

    Make a bootdisk with some other windows box, make it a bootable disk when you format it. Then load those files on it.

    If you can get into the setup turn off all boot devices except the floppy.

    I would disconnect anything but the keyboard, video, and floppy disk. I would run only one bank of memory. (I don't think you need a mouse for the flash)

    Then do the BIOS flash, if you have the option to back up the old BIOS, do so.

    Most BIOS will do a self discovery, but you will want to back into setup when you connect everything back up and make sure devices and boot order are correct.
    ddddc

    "Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

Similar Threads

  1. game instalation problem?
    By unvi$ible in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 26th, 2005, 12:13 AM
  2. Spam problem
    By FamStars&Straps in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 12th, 2003, 05:33 AM
  3. 500 mile email problem
    By Tedob1 in forum Tech Humor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2002, 03:58 PM
  4. C problem...
    By Rna in forum General Programming Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2002, 07:03 AM
  5. Help! I've got a nasty IDE problem
    By thesecretfire in forum Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 17th, 2002, 12:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •