Monitor not compatable with linux??
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Monitor not compatable with linux??

  1. #1
    T3h 1337 N00b kryptonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, Washington.
    Posts
    523

    Monitor not compatable with linux??

    I had an old IBM monitor that worked just fine with OpenSuse 10.2 Then the monitor went out so I got a different one. Its a CTL (Computer Technology Link)
    monitor and it seems a little old but not that old. Any way I got XP and OpenSuse 10.2 dual booted on my HD. The monitor works fine with XP but when I try and load linux it goes through the loading process but when it gets to where it would normally load KDE a black screen comes up with a message that says something like Out of range. Anyone ever heard of something like this?

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I am sorry that I cannot help you with a Linux fix, because I do not know your distro.

    I can tell you what the problem is though

    The refresh rate and screen resolution are beyond what your OS driver can handle.

    The resolution is to try to get an appropriate driver for that make/model of monitor for your Linux distro.

    Also, can you boot Linux into a VGA mode and then set the resolution and refresh rate to something within range?

    If you have problems you might try to boot into Doze and set the refresh rate to something like 72 and the resolution to 640x480 then reboot into Linux. Otherwise (and a better idea) use a Linux boot CD and change the settings from within that.

  3. #3
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Boot to a console only mode (runlevel 3) and edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Look for the monitor section. Change the HorizFreq and VertRefresh to suit your "new" monitor. There are no "monitor drivers" when using Xorg/XFree. It's all about setting the correct horizontal and vertical frequencies. You could try removing both and let X figure it out using EDID.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Thank you SirDice,

    That reminds me of back in the days of Windows 3.x when you altered the startup to tweak the best out of your 512Kb ISA video card and high resolution monitor.

    I still have some of those ISA cards

Similar Threads

  1. Linux TCO not as high as once thought
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 8th, 2006, 04:31 PM
  2. suse is crap on finding cdrom
    By rajunpl in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: July 1st, 2004, 08:30 AM
  3. jup makin linux friends, not
    By lumpyporridge in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 5th, 2004, 04:00 PM
  4. Is Torvalds really the Father of Linux?
    By MrLinus in forum Cosmos
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 24th, 2004, 10:52 PM
  5. Installing Linux
    By Rewandythal in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 12th, 2001, 09:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •