Multiple Domains on A Single Machine
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Multiple Domains on A Single Machine

  1. #1
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466

    Multiple Domains on A Single Machine

    Hi: -

    I have a server machine working as PDC running windows 2003 on it. Now suppose the domain configuring in it is abc.com and now we want to change that domain to xyz.com. I have one option to remove the current domain/ remove AD and re-configuring them for xyz.com but normally it happened with me that once i remove the AD or Domain i have encounter too much problem and lastly i re-installed the windows in it. So i need your suggestion/ help that is it possible that i can do this without installing the complete OS.

    Is it possible to run both the DNS abc. and xyz.com Simultaneously.

    If its possible than later on i have to remove the abc.com and will that gona effect the clients or even the server too.
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  2. #2
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718
    Now suppose the domain configuring in it is abc.com and now we want to change that domain to xyz.com
    Domain Renaming is a serious consideration and not something you should just do on a whim. You should really do some reading on domain renaming first. I suggest starting here -
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/dow...ainrename.mspx
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  3. #3
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    I have a server machine working as PDC running windows 2003 on it.
    First, there has been no such thing as a PDC/BDC model since NT4 domains. Win2000 on up have global catalogs now so there is no need for a "PDC".

    Just by the fact that you don't understand this basic domain concept, running parallel domains would be a terrible idea for you (but yes, it can be done). If you want to change domain names, you're going to have to re-engineer *everything*.

    So i need your suggestion/ help that is it possible that i can do this without installing the complete OS.
    You can demote DCs but it isn't always a clean process. Re-installation is the best way to go.

    Is it possible to run both the DNS abc. and xyz.com Simultaneously.
    Yes. DNS is DNS. It is not Microsoft/AD centric.

    If its possible than later on i have to remove the abc.com and will that gona effect the clients or even the server too.
    It depends on too many things to accurately answer this.

    Bottom line: Unless it is absolutely a must, don't do it. You're asking for a world of hurt.

    --TH13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

Similar Threads

  1. Single Tool to Run Multiple Tests?
    By Glork in forum Network Security Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 21st, 2006, 01:25 PM
  2. how do i configure multiple websites on a single server
    By orion9 in forum General Computer Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 7th, 2006, 04:26 PM
  3. Example Forensics SOP/Procedure
    By Tiger Shark in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 15th, 2004, 10:43 PM
  4. Understanding DoS
    By NullDevice in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: December 17th, 2003, 10:03 PM
  5. The Worlds Longest Thread!
    By Noble Hamlet in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1100
    Last Post: March 17th, 2002, 09:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •