AD computer disappearing trick
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: AD computer disappearing trick

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319

    Question AD computer disappearing trick

    We were checking out a computer earlier that was having some software problems, and found that somehow it was no longer listed in AD. It was still able to logon to the domain, and domain users had no problems logging in.

    We've seen this happen with a couple of other computers. Anyone know what would be causing this?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    I think AD gets its computer list from DHCP. So, devices on a static IP don't show. Certainly devices that have been off for long enough for the lease to expire don't show.
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    We don't use DHCP. AD adds computers to its list whenever a domain admin joins it to the domain. We can rejoin it to the domain, and the computer will show back up. We're all scratching our heads on this one.

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Quote Originally Posted by Aardpsymon
    I think AD gets its computer list from DHCP.
    You're confusing AD with DDNS.

    On a windows domain a computer needs to be registered to it. This usually happens when you "join" a domain, the computer account gets created automagicly.


    Delstar, maybe you should turn on some auditting? Perhaps someone is removing the computer account, or it may "time-out". I've seen both happen. The security logs can show the needed info, if you turn on audits that is.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    Nothing was in the logs about it, and we know none of us removed it. The computer in question is used daily, and all of our computers are set to reboot at midnight, so I'm not sure how it would time-out.

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Haven't figured that one out either, just know it happens from time to time.

    Do you audit these events? They aren't by default and nothing would show up in the logs.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718
    delstar,
    yeah, no resolution here either. I've suffered a similar situation where my account has just disappeared from AD. No error messages, nothing in the event viewer. It's happened twice over a year and I still have no clue what's causing it.
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    SirDice : yes, we audit events such as this

    ShagDevil : we've seen it happen to 2 different computers, but others may have been affected and we just haven't found them yet

    After a bit of googling, nobody else seems to know what's causing it, either. We did notice a large number of the people that did have this problem made note of the fact that they use McAfee, which we also use, but I have no idea why that would be causing problems like this.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    Are you guys running McAfee Antivirus or Firewall? I've seen issues where reinstalling this fixes the problem. Have also seen it work with Norton/Symantec products as well...worth a shot.
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    well it is going to get the computer name over netbios since you are using AD. Maybe those systems have firewalls or maybe some one changed the name of them recently?

Similar Threads

  1. Securing 2000 Pro
    By akachuckie in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 24th, 2005, 12:47 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 15th, 2004, 10:41 PM
  3. how to finger a user via telnet
    By ai0070 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 18th, 2004, 11:21 PM
  4. 4 steps to making your computer immortal online.
    By ali1 in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: January 1st, 2004, 10:59 AM
  5. Computer dictionary
    By ar_wind in forum Tech Humor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 19th, 2003, 12:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides