1st major problem with Kaspersky suite
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: 1st major problem with Kaspersky suite

  1. #1
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734

    1st major problem with Kaspersky suite

    Been using it without incident for several months, however about 3 weeks ago, some update it ran caused certificate security warnings to popup on many sites, and in every browser loaded on my system. Naturally my 1st thought was to check all the windows and individual browser settings which govern such things, but all were set as they should be.

    I searched the web, tried everything I was able to find, no luck. Finally I disabled the security suite for 1 min, and they ceased. I didn't understand because the phishing guard in Kas. Suite was disabled, which to my mind is the only thing that should be warning me about website certificates.

    I eventually had to tell it not to scan any traffic through the browser, something I didn't care for at all. Furthermore, I don't think an AV or FW should override such settings which govern annoyances.

    So if you're considering Kaspersky suite, you might want to look further.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Any A/V can have its random problems. Thats ONE reason I hate them.

  3. #3
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Well I ran an old box with no AV or FW for 8 yrs and it was clean enough to eat off of, but I did have to run frequent scans to insure that it was. But it's easier to keep one clean with an onboard AV

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi JPnyc,

    I am having similar AV suite woes, I have one box running PC-Cillin v.14 (2006)

    It has recently updated itself to "anti-postwhore" mode................and won't let me sign on to AO........... It seems to think that my password is my credit card number!

    So I have to give the AO password and then the AV password!!!

    Now, I know that AO is an elite site, but you never said that you had a deal going with Trend Micro
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Who knew?

  6. #6
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil
    Hi JPnyc,

    I am having similar AV suite woes, I have one box running PC-Cillin v.14 (2006)

    It has recently updated itself to "anti-postwhore" mode................and won't let me sign on to AO........... It seems to think that my password is my credit card number!

    So I have to give the AO password and then the AV password!!!

    Now, I know that AO is an elite site, but you never said that you had a deal going with Trend Micro
    I think I may know the problem. What's your password so I can verify? :P

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Nihil cant you specific sites for it to ignore?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi oofki,

    I haven't really looked, but I believe that you can positively identify sites that you want to send passwords to.

    It caught me by surprise more than anything else, as it switched itself on without warning me.

    I think there might be a slight bug, as it warns me that I am sending a credit card number. My password isn't anything like a credit card number
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    So it wasn't even enabled like JPnyc's?! Thats funny. I know if you disable features in Norton packages it will continue to have popups saying that there are x amount of errors click here to fix and when you click it, it will enable all the things it wants enabled haha.

    As far as it flagging your pw as a CC number... could be a bug in the algo that detects private information or maybe your password has a similar syntax as a CC number. i.e. it contains 16 characters.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi oofki,

    I just did a default install and didn't give it much thought, as I don't use that particular machine for internet trading or online banking.

    The password thing just happened all of a sudden. I think you might be right about a bug in the algorithm, as my password is 19 characters and is not all numeric.

    If it told me I was sending a password I wouldn't have given it much thought, but it clearly says credit card.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. Kaspersky debuts Linux antivirus in the U.S.
    By Egaladeist in forum Spyware / Adware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2005, 11:09 PM
  2. Kaspersky Beta released for testing
    By Chuck56 in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 20th, 2003, 01:14 AM
  3. TCP/IP protocol suite
    By pythonas in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 5th, 2003, 10:16 AM
  4. SCO Releases Server Suite for Linux
    By CXGJarrod in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2003, 09:13 PM
  5. Avirt Gateway Suite Remote SYSTEM Level Compromise
    By KOBBRAS in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 20th, 2002, 09:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •