1st major problem with Kaspersky suite - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: 1st major problem with Kaspersky suite

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Bad algos ftl and aggravation!

  2. #12
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Shouldn't adding it to trusted sites make a difference? Every firewall or AV has some type of similar designation

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Yes it should. But he said he never looked into that.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    13
    I'm real sorry I haven't been on in a long time, please don't hold it against me,

    On the A/V discussion, might I suggest looking up some free ones? I've heard a ton about Norton and Macafee I don't even suggest them to my customers anymore, I just don't understand why you should pay to be "Safe" from attackers/malware/spyware/viruses/trojans - you name it.

    I'm not well educated in the A/V side of things, this is just what i've heard from numerous sources.

  5. #15
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    What you say is true about those 2, but the top rated AVs are pay ones, just not THOSE pay ones.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Norton is bloatware and I dont really have a problem with mcafee...

  7. #17
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    I did. I had McAfee suite for a bit. Came with a desktop I bought, so I figured I'd ride out the trial period. I didn't make it.

  8. #18
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    I don't know if it is me, but it seems as if there is a gap developing between the corporate and domestic versions of McAfee and Norton?

    I really don't rate the home offerings. That said, there are numerous situations where a security suite is the way to go rather than patching together a set of freeware offerings. The latter option isn't really "granny friendly"
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #19
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Not sure about McAfee's corporate entries, but that certainly true of Norton/Symantec. I know software co's that use symantec corporate, and they're not inept coders, they write very sophisticated software themselves, so their opinion is an educated one.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    I dont know about sophisticated I would call it more bloated IMHO. Other A/V engines do an equal or better job as norton corp. and have a smaller foot print.

Similar Threads

  1. Kaspersky debuts Linux antivirus in the U.S.
    By Egaladeist in forum Spyware / Adware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2005, 11:09 PM
  2. Kaspersky Beta released for testing
    By Chuck56 in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 20th, 2003, 01:14 AM
  3. TCP/IP protocol suite
    By pythonas in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 5th, 2003, 10:16 AM
  4. SCO Releases Server Suite for Linux
    By CXGJarrod in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2003, 09:13 PM
  5. Avirt Gateway Suite Remote SYSTEM Level Compromise
    By KOBBRAS in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 20th, 2002, 09:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •