Connecting 2 PCs
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Connecting 2 PCs

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    52

    Arrow Connecting 2 PCs

    Hi guys,
    I've just got a HP DV6000TX notebook with Vista in it. I'm trying to connect it to my desktop PC running Windows XP SP2. My desktop PC has got a LAN Card. I've got a RJ-45 cable and another cable with USB interface at both ends.

    Can I somehow connect both the notebook and the Desktop PC for purpose of file sharing, multipayer gaming, etc.

    I'm new in networking fundas. Please tell me how to connect

  2. #2
    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/home-network.htm

    helped me out a lot when i started (theres more than one page)
    StreetsCrack.com Join The Best Music Social Network Online. Music downloads, promotions, forums, profile, games etc...

  3. #3
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    If the laptop has a network interface use a cross-cable to connect both network cards together.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #4
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    Are you currently using the nic (LAN card) on your desktop PC? If
    you're connected via hi-speed internet (DSL or Cable), more than
    likely you are using that already. As Sir Dice aptly points out, going
    nic-to-nic requires a crossover cable. Might not be a bad idea to
    pick up a router for expanding your LAN. That way you'd be able to
    share a hi-speed internet connection. You won't need a crossover
    cable in that case either.
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. Will Rogers

  5. #5
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    When using the NIC to NIC with a crossover you will have to manually asign IP addresses....in the same range and subnet.

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Quote Originally Posted by morganlefay
    When using the NIC to NIC with a crossover you will have to manually asign IP addresses....in the same range and subnet.
    W2K (and above) will assign a ipv4 link local address (169.254.x.x) to the interface if it cannot find a DHCP server.

    http://www.rfc-archive.org/getrfc.php?rfc=3927
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    wow....so each device will get its own address...no duplicates???

    very cool



    havent used a crossover since the old NT4.0 days..

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  8. #8
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Quote Originally Posted by morganlefay
    wow....so each device will get its own address...no duplicates???
    That's the whole idea Plug 'n play networking..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  9. #9
    Junior Member ralyks's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wrner Robins, GA
    Posts
    7

    Router

    Why not just get a router

    that will solve this and future problems with internet for 30 bucks

    and then no issues with Ip addressing or adding friends for gaming
    Skylar Woodell
    *******************
    In 1983 David Lightman almost
    destroyed the world with a trs-80
    Imagine what he could do today...
    *******************
    www.lanextreme.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Yup bottom line is cross over cable with manual ips or router to do it the easy way.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem connecting Auditor with WPA enabled
    By Ignatius in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 19th, 2006, 04:03 PM
  2. Connecting to my WPA enabled wireless router
    By skiddieleet in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 21st, 2006, 07:21 AM
  3. Connecting to Linux Remotely - Getting the Best from SSH
    By steve.milner in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 5th, 2003, 03:53 PM
  4. Connecting to a remote sys with a modem.
    By blackmask in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2002, 12:18 AM
  5. how does it work (i mean connecting to FTP:) ?
    By sun7dots in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 13th, 2002, 08:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •