Can I send modem AT commands via generic text printer?
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Can I send modem AT commands via generic text printer?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,121

    Can I send modem AT commands via generic text printer?

    Okay, What I am trying to do is to send AT commands via a generic text printer placed on COM3, to communicate to a modem also on COM3. I am able to hit the "Print test page" and can hear the modem pick up the line, so I know it is using the same com ports and are communicating at least garbage at this point. I have been unsucceful in sending any AT commands via this however. Has anyone ever been able to send AT modem commands via a printer on the same com port?



    Thanks,
    xmaddness

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Um you just happen to be sending data of a com port to your at modem. A printer cant be used as an input device so that doesnt really make sense to me?

  3. #3
    Senior Member MadBeaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bath, Maine
    Posts
    252
    You did what and now you what hurts?????????
    Mad Beaver

  4. #4
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,121
    well actually we have been doing this for years across the generic print driver to the serial port just fine. It so happens we need to redirect it to the modem now.
    Essentially we would like to open notepad, type ath1 (causing the modem to pick up the hook), and send that via the generic text printer to the com port.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Wouldn't you need a serial modem for that to work? Some sort of serial/parallel problem?

    Might USB provide a solution?
    Last edited by nihil; June 29th, 2007 at 09:32 PM.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    756

    Wink

    text printer placed on COM3, to communicate to a modem also on COM3
    I'm curious why are they both running on the same COM port? Also, AT&F <--- resets modems back to the Factory Default settings. Also, have you tried running the modem on a different COM port? Trial and error comes to mind here. Just my two cents.

  7. #7
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,121
    I'm curious why are they both running on the same COM port?
    In hopes that the printers output would be received by the modems input.

    It has been quite a while since the old ymodem/xmodem ansi style protocols, which is what I grew up with. I have since lost the art of null modems and protocols.

    Wouldn't you need a serial modem for that to work? Some sort of serial/parallel problem?
    I have a serial db25(rs232) modem on its way. A good old us robotics.

    This concept is for an autodial w/ Avaya phone systems used by my emergency call center. Originally (with Inter-tel) we were able to send out the at commands via serial to a phone adater board, which in turn sent at commands to the phone. (basically a modem interface among other things). We are hoping to achieve the same effect via a modem (which we were told would work, but can't seem to pull any docs from them).


    So, that is the reason for this somewhat odd request.

    I hope to avoid having to do driver or protocol programming, but it is always an option.


    thanks,

    xmad

  8. #8
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    I don't know about the printer driver, it may add garbage,
    but I believe there's a program on your system for typing
    AT commands to the modem. Terminal or hyperterminal
    or some such in older systems...



    http://www.modemsite.com/56k/x2-hyperterm.asp
    Last edited by rcgreen; June 30th, 2007 at 08:04 AM.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  9. #9
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    How about a small batch file?

    Code:
    echo ATH1 > com3:
    echo ATDT1234567 > com3:
    echo AT&F > com3:
    You can probably figure out the rest
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  10. #10
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,121
    SirDice: Yeah that was exactly how I was testing, but it wouldn't work for our situation because the dial string is being fed via a telnet session.

    I did however get this to work properly with the US Robotics modem (<3 these things).

    Well, after the testing was said and done, it is not a viable solution. The system and initializations and call process take about 30 seconds to complete the dial out. That is simply to long to wait for a viable solution for dialing out of the emergency call center.

    I am now writing a "print" driver for the Avaya phone switch that will send the dial string directly into the phone switch.

    We shall see how this pans out.


    Thank you for all your help and suggestions.

    -xmad

Similar Threads

  1. Help with PHP
    By Euclid in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 5th, 2003, 11:25 PM
  2. modem jammer
    By allen in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 15th, 2001, 10:05 PM
  3. *nix Commands: 101 - Part 1 Tha' Basics
    By MrLinus in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 11th, 2001, 07:59 PM
  4. Modem commands
    By valhallen in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 11th, 2001, 04:29 AM
  5. Batch File Tut
    By Badassatchu in forum Non-Security Archives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2001, 10:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides