wireless in Ubuntu
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: wireless in Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422

    wireless in Ubuntu

    As most of you know, I'm fairly new to linux, and i have problems with it very easily. Well, I've finally gotten a dual boot of ubuntu and windows all by myslef (I'm hoping to get slackware on soon too, for a triboot, if thats what its called) but, my wireless internet in Ubuntu is horrible. In windows I get about 95-100% signal strength from my AP, which is around 10 feet away, but through a wall, so i didn't use cables. In Ubuntu, it says 30%, and when I try to download updates, it says downloading at 1000 bytes per second, then it will say unavailable, and back and forth. When I try to use firefox, the only page that will load is google (and google searches), any other page won't completely load. If my wireless in ubuntu didn't work at all, I could at least search online for help, but with this, it says it works, but not really, so I have no idea what to do.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Maestr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    604
    More information such as wireless card, chipset and current driver you are using in Ubuntu would be useful...


    -Maestr0
    \"If computers are to become smart enough to design their own successors, initiating a process that will lead to God-like omniscience after a number of ever swifter passages from one generation of computers to the next, someone is going to have to write the software that gets the process going, and humans have given absolutely no evidence of being able to write such software.\" -Jaron Lanier

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    My wireless card is a PCI Netgear WG311T, atheros chipset, and im not sure of the drivers, which may be the problem, but the current drivers 'work' so im not sure. Like I said before, i don't know much about linux, so the drivers that are being used are the ones ubuntu decides to use, and i don't know how to change that as of now.

  4. #4
    Senior Member IKnowNot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    792
    atheros chipset
    So you are using madwifi drivers?

    What version of Ubuntu?

    It is probably the drivers: maybe search the Ubuntu forums?

    You may need to upgrade the drivers, or install the latest beta.

    I had similar problems with some of the older versions of madwifi.
    " And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be" --Miguel Cervantes

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    I just downloaded Ubuntu about a week ago, so I have feisty fawn. I'm not sure if this would have anything to do with it, but I downloaded the 64bit version, and I have a Core 2 Duo, which I'm fairly sure is 64 bit, but now im doubting myself.

Similar Threads

  1. I think I've made a mess of Ubuntu...
    By Liquid_Darkness in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 15th, 2006, 12:54 PM
  2. ipod problems with ubuntu 6.06
    By hexadecimal in forum Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 21st, 2006, 06:55 PM
  3. Haha nice one Ubuntu
    By gore in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 16th, 2006, 01:44 AM
  4. Ubuntu
    By hjack in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 1st, 2005, 04:09 PM
  5. Dynamically Resizing Linux Ubuntu
    By Mormegil in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 31st, 2005, 07:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides