setting up web server using apache, php, mysql, phpmyadmin on windows2003 server
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: setting up web server using apache, php, mysql, phpmyadmin on windows2003 server

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    93

    setting up web server using apache, php, mysql, phpmyadmin on windows2003 server

    just want a little help.
    anyone who has information on how to install webserver using apache,php,mysql,phpmyadmin on a windows 2003 server box?
    i did it a couple of days now but i usually got errors like "no input file specified"
    or the browser just goes blank or white when i point it to my localhost.
    the apache goes fine but i think i got errors installing php and mysql.
    do u think the versions of that installers got an issue too?

    thanks in advance.
    .sig na ture.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    At a keyboard
    Posts
    82
    Personally, I would start troubleshooting it from the start.
    1) Is the apache service show to be running? On the windows version does it have a hpptd.conf file? Have you made adjustments to it? How have you set up apache to handle domains? by ip or by name? Or both o.O

    2) the next program that should have been installed would be mysql. Is its service showing that its running? Can you log into through command line?

    3) PHP is something Im still in the process of learning. Don't have much to offer on trouble shooting it. I know theres an address you can view that will show you the php configuration on the linux version. It should be the same in windows but its slipped my mind the name of that url... google it.

    4) phpmyadmin falls under the same as php as far as I can go. Generally speaking though, if you cannot access mysql through command line, your not going to be able to access it through other interfaces such as phpmyadmin.

    Thats all I can offer for advice, its a good start.
    "I have died, I will die, It's alright, I don't mind"

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    93
    1. i've configured all that's been needed in httpd.conf for apache.
    2. the service for mysql is called mysql-nt.exe is up and running smoothly.
    3. php.ini was configured but am confused bcoz it doesn't appear that php is running. php should be running now but i think i am lacking some configuration on it.
    4. phpmyadmin is the least configuration am gonna deal with.
    .sig na ture.

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Create an index page:

    Code:
    <?php
     phpinfo();
    ?>
    Use that to test if php is working.

    Did you add the php type handlers to httpd.conf?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    check that apache is listening to local host, check the port is what you think it is. I've had problems where I managed to stop apache responding to "localhost" but when I put in the internal IP it worked fine.

    Also check that as well as handlers for PHP you have set index.php as the default file too.
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    93
    hi. thanks for the replies.

    the phpinfo was working. only that when my website with php scripts or even at the beginning of the page (e.g. index.php) only represents a blank, white browser page. my index page contains a top.php, body.php, footer.php. which, when browsed does not display.
    .sig na ture.

  7. #7
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    If phpinfo works, php works. So if your php pages don't there's something wrong with them.

    Look at httpd-error.log to see if it croaks somewhere.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    93
    ayt. am goin to fix it. i'll be back here see if i can solve it. thanks
    .sig na ture.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    wait, you are trying to do PHP includes and they are not showing? I remember this....there are two things you need to do.

    1) php scripts in includes will NOT be parsed, thus if you include a file with PHP into another file it will not display

    2) you need to set an attribute on directories to allow includes to happen.

    So I have this set for my defualt directory since I use includes all over the page:

    <Directory />
    Options FollowSymLinks Includes ExecCGI
    AllowOverride None
    Order deny,allow
    Allow from all
    Satisfy all
    </Directory>
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    119
    I would reinstall 2003 and install Xampp or WAMP and be done with it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2004, 06:32 PM
  2. Date Encryption
    By CyberSpyder in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 25th, 2003, 09:31 AM
  3. Newbies, list of many words definitions.
    By -DaRK-RaiDeR- in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 14th, 2002, 08:38 PM
  4. Phpmyadmin installation
    By khakisrule in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 24th, 2002, 10:18 AM
  5. Configuring Apache
    By jethro in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2002, 10:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •