Netgear Dg834g-disconnected
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Netgear Dg834g-disconnected

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    138

    Netgear Dg834g-disconnected

    With my ISP, I have been experiencing this problem between time to time (not frequent), I do not why that Internet gets disconnected suddenly. What I used to do, is explained in the pic below:

    http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/6407/dg834goo7.jpg

    I used to press "Connect" button (please see pic above) to reconnect ADSL router again.
    Regards

  2. #2
    Regal Making Handler
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,668
    Well I can't give you a definitive answer, however, your routers firmware is extremely out of date. I had some disconnection issues with the same router. Updating the firmware sorted out for me.

    They are up to version 4.01.28 for UK and 4.01.27 for outside North America and UK and 4.03.04 for North America:

    http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/DG834Gv3.asp
    What happens if a big asteroid hits the Earth? Judging from realistic simulations involving a sledge hammer and a common laboratory frog, we can assume it will be pretty bad. - Dave Barry

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    138
    The version that I have got is V1 (latest firmware is 3.01.25), and I have updated the firmware from 1.0.3 to 3.01.25, let us see how it will go, then we can move on after that.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Senior Member WolfeTone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    197
    Make sure your connection is set to "Always On" and not "On-Demand"

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Ding ding ding. WolfeTone is right.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    138
    Make sure your connection is set to "Always On" and not "On-Demand"
    I have seen that option in my other router (Linksys), but I could not find it in NetGear!!

    Could you please tell where can I find it in NetGear, if you have came across it ?

    Regards

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    It should be an option on the first page that opens I believe.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    138
    It should be an option on the first page that opens I believe.
    Yep, I had seen that in the first page under "Idle timeout" option which is described below:

    An idle Internet connection will be terminated after this time period.
    If this value is zero (0), then the connection will be "kept alive" by re-connecting immediately whenever the connection is lost.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    47
    Look on Ebay for Cisco routers---I have a 2620XM that provides for me an awesome firewall, VPN server, and a LOT of other neat things.

    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. Netgear DG834G + IPcop Firewall
    By hongkongdragon in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 15th, 2004, 02:33 PM
  2. Netgear RP114, RP614 vulnerability
    By Ohana in forum Network Security Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 4th, 2004, 05:28 PM
  3. Netgear Wireless Flaw
    By wildred in forum Wireless Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 10th, 2004, 05:04 AM
  4. firewall rules for a netgear Dg834G
    By hellforgedangel in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2004, 11:46 PM
  5. disable SNMP on netgear FWAG114.
    By tarpi in forum Wireless Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 24th, 2004, 06:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides