WMP 10 problem playing CDs
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WMP 10 problem playing CDs

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    15

    WMP 10 problem playing CDs

    When I try and play music cds in WMP 10 it gives me the following error, and will not play the tracks

    "Windows Media Player cannot play the file. If the file is on another computer, verify that you are connected to the network. If you typed a path, verify that it is correct. If the problem persists, the server might not be available."

    I was using WMP 11 and rolled back to WMP 10 but made no difference. I have no problems playing MP3's just audio CD's.

    I have searched google but no one seems to have any solutions for this problem...
    Any suggestions to rectify this problem??
    Thanks in advance
    \"All men by nature desire knowledge\" - Aristotle


  2. #2
    The ******* Shadow dalek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,564
    Quick fix... http://www.cowonamerica.com/download/ solves all of your problems....


    Unless you really want to use WMP10:

    WMP 10 FAQ Microsoft
    PC Registered user # 2,336,789,457...

    "When the water reaches the upper level, follow the rats."
    Claude Swanson

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    15
    The customer has specified that they want to use windows media player.
    And the WMP FAQ did not solve the problem....
    \"All men by nature desire knowledge\" - Aristotle


  4. #4
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391

    Lightbulb

    Are you trying to play the music from an CD? or from a designated folder? if it's from a folder then check to see if it's using the correct folder and if there are actually files inside that folder?

    or is it actually a codec problem? If so then download that k-lite codec pack from// http://www.codecpackguide.com/klmcodec.htm and see if that helps..

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    15
    Downloaded the codec pack....Still did not rectify the problem
    Also tried Jetaudio but still didnt want to play CD's....Its starting to become a bit frustrating
    \"All men by nature desire knowledge\" - Aristotle


  6. #6
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391

    Question

    Ok have you tried uninstalling wmp10 then downloading a fresh installer then run the installer?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    15
    Yeh a fresh install of WMP 10 did not solve the problem either. Either did upgrading to WMP 11
    \"All men by nature desire knowledge\" - Aristotle


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    turn off the track lookup thats the only reason it contacts any network with a cd

Similar Threads

  1. Sql Server Problem?
    By ommy in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: April 21st, 2005, 07:27 PM
  2. Read Me First
    By Negative in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2004, 02:09 AM
  3. 500 mile email problem
    By Tedob1 in forum Tech Humor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2002, 04:58 PM
  4. C problem...
    By Rna in forum General Programming Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2002, 08:03 AM
  5. Help! I've got a nasty IDE problem
    By thesecretfire in forum Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 17th, 2002, 01:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •