Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What the..?!

What the..?!

This problem has been happening ever since I got off the train coming from college. I have a HP Pavilion dv6000 with Windows Vista Home Premium. I don't know when it happens but my clock is usually wrong as if it stops working for an x period of time. For example at 11:19 this morning it said 4pm, the day I got home from college it did the same thing.

My guess is the CMOS battery got loose on the train, since I was using it there but I don't want to go opening my laptop (I'm apprehensive about that since I've never done it before) for no reason. Also I would assume the CMOS battery getting loose would produce other problems.

Btw, the laptop is only a month old at most.
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

Banned
    Was this a high-speed train, travelling at, say, half the speed of light? If so, was there a cowboy watching the train speed by? Did, right when the cowboy was watching the train speed by, lightning strike the front and the back of the train? If so, your computer's clock may have gone back in time a bit - depending on who you ask...

Either that, or it's the CMOS battery!

why don't you try contacting the HP support for that.

however the problem might occur if something is wrong with the automatic time updating (but that i think works only if you travel long distances).
    "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler."

- Albert Einstein

Yes, that's my CC number! 576869746568617's Avatar
    Clocks should typically be accurate to within a few seconds per day. If you're experiencing massive clock drift on the order of minutes per day the first thing to check is your source of power. On some computers time is calcualted by the real-time clock chip using the Hz of the input line voltage.