NVidia 6600 GT display problem - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: NVidia 6600 GT display problem

  1. #11
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  2. #12
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    With the latest nvidia driver you have the option of looking at the temperature of the GPU. IIRC you can leave it running to get a nice graph.

    I had a 6600GT but I seemed to have fried it's memory. If that's the case you would also see artifacts and random screen corruption in 2D too (even in the BIOS screens). Blinking polygones in 3D applications and normal picture in 2D usually indicates an overheated GPU.

    You could have a look around for a replacement fan. I replaced a fan once on an ATI 7600 with a passive heatpipe. Worked like a charm.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #13
    Socialist Utopia Donkey Punch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In the basement
    Posts
    311
    Quote Originally Posted by SirDice
    With the latest nvidia driver you have the option of looking at the temperature of the GPU. IIRC you can leave it running to get a nice graph.

    I had a 6600GT but I seemed to have fried it's memory. If that's the case you would also see artifacts and random screen corruption in 2D too (even in the BIOS screens). Blinking polygones in 3D applications and normal picture in 2D usually indicates an overheated GPU.

    You could have a look around for a replacement fan. I replaced a fan once on an ATI 7600 with a passive heatpipe. Worked like a charm.
    I added thermal paste, got rid of the dust, reseated the thing and still have the same issue. I am getting the gpu temp thing now.
    In loving memory of my step daughter 1987-2006

    Liberty In North Korea

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    ATI 7600?

  5. #15
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Yes, the 7600 is an nVidia card. ATi would be the 7500 or the 9600 IIRC?

    I didn't ask, but has this happened recently or have you only started using 3D intensive apps recently? Like did it work before?

    You might try:

    1. Set the colours to 16bit, refresh rate to 72Hz and the size to 1024 x 768.
    2. Check the 3D settings and try changing them. These would be something like:

    i] anti aliasing
    ii] anisotropic filtering
    iii] texture preference
    iv] mipmap detail
    v]alpha dithering method
    vi] support DXT texture formats
    vii] alternate pixel centre

    Generally try them with "application default", and the minimum and maximum or alternative settings.

    One thing that has occurred to me........... that card should be getting power directly from the PSU................ is that cable in place?


    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #16
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil
    Yes, the 7600 is an nVidia card. ATi would be the 7500 or the 9600 IIRC?
    Yeah, sorry, replaced fan on a ATI 9700 pro. And the fried memory was on an nvidia 6600GT. Friggin type numbers..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #17
    Socialist Utopia Donkey Punch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In the basement
    Posts
    311
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil
    Yes, the 7600 is an nVidia card. ATi would be the 7500 or the 9600 IIRC?

    I didn't ask, but has this happened recently or have you only started using 3D intensive apps recently? Like did it work before?

    You might try:

    1. Set the colours to 16bit, refresh rate to 72Hz and the size to 1024 x 768.
    2. Check the 3D settings and try changing them. These would be something like:

    i] anti aliasing
    ii] anisotropic filtering
    iii] texture preference
    iv] mipmap detail
    v]alpha dithering method
    vi] support DXT texture formats
    vii] alternate pixel centre

    Generally try them with "application default", and the minimum and maximum or alternative settings.

    One thing that has occurred to me........... that card should be getting power directly from the PSU................ is that cable in place?


    Actually... no. I'll have to buy one, huh?
    In loving memory of my step daughter 1987-2006

    Liberty In North Korea

  8. #18
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi Donkey Punch,

    It is a bit weird, but that stuff happens with relatively powerful cards
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. Display driver problem
    By r3b00+ in forum Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 30th, 2005, 02:27 PM
  2. Strange problem with my BOX
    By scratchONtheBOX in forum General Computer Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 9th, 2005, 09:50 AM
  3. C problem...
    By Rna in forum General Programming Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2002, 07:03 AM
  4. Resolution Problem
    By InsaneData in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 25th, 2002, 01:35 PM
  5. Antipoint display problem...I think
    By Tortured Spirit in forum Site Feedback/Questions/Suggestions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 26th, 2002, 05:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides