Building a server
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Building a server

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    59

    Building a server

    Looking to build a server to host a website on . Thus I know about building a PC, I have never build a server but would like to have a go.

    Does anyone know the components of a typical server as you would fine in a datacenter ?

    Also where are the best places to by components for building a server ? on the net


    thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    59
    oh iv got about $3000 to spend on components

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Data center - you will want multi cpu/core, lots of memory, lots of space and probably a raid 5.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    119
    For 3 grand, you should go buy a server from Dell, HP, or IBM.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Well,

    I look at things this way: there are different types of server functionality (UK/European view here):

    1. Fileserver
    2. Applications server
    3. Mailserver
    4. Terminal Server
    5. Webserver

    OK, those are operational functions not physical entities, as one physical device can perform more than one function.

    esi1, my friend, I am asking you to consider this as a project, rather than a simple purchase or construction exercise? please look at your functionality requirements/specification before the hardware.

    From a hardware viewpoint, I guess that you need to think redundancy?

    So, you need multi PS, RAID 1 or 5, redundant power supply, UPS, and all that?

    Please call back
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    I keep coming accross mention of the idea of having 2 raids in a server. One to handle the OS and one to handle the data. Don't forget the most expensive bit - a decent tape drive. Ideally you want a tape big enough to back up the entire server every day.

    There are other things to consider as well. Do you want a tower or a rack mount? tower will be cheaper, but I would recomend a rack mount if you intend to expand. A single tower server is one thing, having 4 on the floor is another.

    Then what about AC. A single server can easily put out 1kW of heat. Add in a person and a couple PCs and that can be one warm room very quickly.

    Some of this is probably beyond what you will need, but as I say - if you want to expand you will need to think about it. Oh, and don't forget to allow for software lisences.
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    47
    I see just about everyone that my company services use a mirror for the OS and RAID5, with a hot spare configured, as well as a decent tape drive. I like the Compaq DL380G4, which can house up to 6 SCSI hdd's, and are usually 2 proc systems, Xeon dual core, and in G#'s and higher, at least 2.8GHz.

    Tim

  8. #8
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    From the build of the admin server at work theres actually a bonus to using quad core chips if you run SQL. Apparently SQL is liscenced based on number of chips in your system not core. Therefore a single quad core chip costs half as much as two single core chips. Or something, its been a while since we discussed the spec I only half remember.
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    40
    I personally have a Compaq Proliant at home but I've never used the tape backup but opt to using a DVD Burner instead.

    What would be the benefit of using a Tape instead of a DVD? Isn't data access quicker on a DVD.

    I never really looked into this and this thread made me curious since several mentioned the tape backup.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    tape can back up hundreds of gig overnight without intervention. DVD needs changing every 4/8 gig.
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 01:51 PM
  2. Trojans - Ports
    By GbinaryR in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 30th, 2008, 09:33 AM
  3. Using IPSec to Secure Computers and Network Traffic.
    By Tiger Shark in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 7th, 2004, 07:18 PM
  4. Central Secure Logging in a Win2k Environment
    By Tiger Shark in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 4th, 2004, 04:00 PM
  5. Understanding DoS
    By NullDevice in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: December 17th, 2003, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides