is my cpu fried?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: is my cpu fried?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500

    is my cpu fried?

    I have a newer tower (p4) and it was running slow as a dog, i mean like 10 mins to boot up. I did my usual scanning and whatnot, found nothing, so I just decided to throw a different HD in there and a fresh copy of XP (I took the old HD out compleatly). Same problem happened, it was slow as crap. Even during the bootup and install, it was extreamly slow, took me a few hours to do an xp install. Once into windows, if I open task manager, only thing that shows cpu usage is Taskmgr, and it spikes between 50-100% cpu usage when i just move the mouse, stays around 25% usage when I dont do anything. There is nothing installed other then the OS.

    Is it possible that the cpu is fried but still functioning at some very slow rate?
    I've never seen anything like this. No errors in the event log, and it did this on a fresh install, and with my bootable linux cd, its just SLOW.

    Any advice or has anyone encountered anything like this before?!?
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Well, maybe the memory?. Try it with one strip and swap them?

    What are the hardware specs?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500
    would bad memory cause the cpu to spike even though the memory usage is next to nothing in taskman?
    I will get more specs when I get home, I am not around the computer ATM.
    Thanks for the reply.
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  4. #4
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    Try swapping out the harddrive cable. I've seen cabling bring a computer to its knees.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    CPUs usually work or they dont. ID try a new hard drive with a fresh load of windows first. Motherboads with bad caps can cause that too so double check the board while you are at it.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi oofki,

    CPUs usually work or they dont
    I would agree with that.

    ID try a new hard drive with a fresh load of windows first.
    cross has already done that. Also he says that it is slow booting from the Windows CD and from a Linux CD. That kind of rules out the HDD for me, which leaves the RAM and the MoBo?

    cross:
    would bad memory cause the cpu to spike even though the memory usage is next to nothing in taskman?
    Yes it might do. A defective memory stick can produce all sorts of unpredictable results. Please get this diagnostic and run it from a CD:

    http://www.memtest86.com/download.html

    A quick test is to try eack memory stick one at a time, or better still, try a known working memory stick.

    You might also check that your BIOS is correctly recognising your processor, although the worst I have ever encountered was one running at half speed. Your problem sounds worse than that?



    As oofki suggests, look at the MoBo. The capacitor tops should be flat with no gunge seeping out of them.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Aardpsymon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St Annes (aaaa!)
    Posts
    434
    I wonder what a faulty power supply might do to performance if the voltage was unsteady perhaps?

    Try the basics, unplug everything but CPU, GPU, RAM, keyboard and mouse.
    Heck, unplug the mouse.

    I suppose it is worth checking all the fans are spinning properly.
    If the world doesn't stop annoying me I will name my kids ";DROP DATABASE;" and get revenge.

  8. #8
    Old ancient one vanman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Freestate,South Africa
    Posts
    570
    One more thing i would add is to check for adaware and malware because they are quite destructive these days..Would slow your pc down considerably..Like nihil says give us some more info and we will be able to help you i,m sure..

    I have found that microworlds antivirus and spyware removal kit downloaded here http://www.mwti.net/products/mwav/mwav.asp takes care of most of todays rubbish..
    Last edited by vanman; August 31st, 2007 at 08:12 PM.
    Practise what you preach.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ouroboros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Superior, WI USA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by Aardpsymon
    I wonder what a faulty power supply might do to performance if the voltage was unsteady perhaps?
    That's what I was thinking. I am under the impression that if one has RAM issues (failed or faulty), they system would alert you. He said that no event logs were generated and I assume that the system starts normally with no error messages.

    Having just upgraded a power supply, I experienced a significant difference. 250 --> 300.

    Go with power supply.

    O
    "entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem"

    "entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity."

    -Occam's Razor


  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Any BIOS beeps?

    When the PSU goes south, it just tends to take stuff with it?

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. I think I fried my computer
    By mjk in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 20th, 2005, 10:04 PM
  2. Chicken Fried Computers
    By dopeydadwarf in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 15th, 2003, 08:24 AM
  3. Computer security at the repair shop?
    By July in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: April 10th, 2003, 07:01 PM
  4. Motherboard fried?
    By thesecretfire in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: February 20th, 2002, 12:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •