Disable 'Run > iexplore' ?? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Disable 'Run > iexplore' ??

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    er stopping IE is pretty hard since you can goto explorer and type in a address and it turns into ie. There are so many way around it...

  2. #12
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    I am just glad that I am the only one that has noticed this huge privacy invasion.
    Actually it isn't a privacy invasion, it is an apalling lack of security.

    If your network is managed by outsiders perhaps you could suggest an independent security audit, particularly to ensure regulatory compliance. That way the bad news comes from someone else
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #13
    Gonzo District BOFH westin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    1,188
    I actually mustered up the courage to talk to the owner today. I was pleasantly surprised when he thanked me, and told me that if I notice anything else like that, to let him know. He said that he was going to call this company and see what could be done to fix it. I told him that because of what I had seen, that I would not put much faith into this company. Time will tell.

    Thanks to everyone for the replies.

    I am glad that things worked out the way they did. As for IE, he has decided to disable it completely. He let the same company disable it... I guarantee that they just put in a non-existent proxy
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

    -HST

  4. #14
    Gonzo District BOFH westin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    1,188
    As for IE, he has decided to disable it completely. He let the same company disable it... I guarantee that they just put in a non-existent proxy
    Ok, so he used content advisor. Still easily bypassed, but will work with most users.
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

    -HST

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    I made a script that loaded with each user as they loaded on a domain before that just adds a proxy in interenet explorer settings to 127.0.0.1 and enforced a policy that does not allow changing of ie settings.

    They could still use other browsers but it makes IE its self pretty useless..

Similar Threads

  1. Securing 2000 Pro
    By akachuckie in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 24th, 2005, 01:47 AM
  2. Network Security made easy?
    By Tiger Shark in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2005, 08:47 PM
  3. Playing with Windows
    By gizmofreak in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 7th, 2003, 06:43 PM
  4. Secure Windows (All Versions)
    By spools.exe in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 5th, 2003, 12:54 AM
  5. Registry Editing
    By Pandabean in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: June 8th, 2002, 06:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •