Someone is Spying on me i need to do low-level format plz help - Page 4
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 52

Thread: Someone is Spying on me i need to do low-level format plz help

  1. #31
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    There is nothing on your computer that you need to erase.
    I have personally checked all your stuff, and you are perfectly safe.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  2. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil
    These "beeps"................ do you hear them in normal circumstances, or is it only through your PC? You did not specify, so I assumed that you were talking about normally audible sounds.

    If he were spying on you, don't you think he is being rather obvious?
    The beep is not through the pc is a high pitch so i hear it comes from downstairs, sounds like someone pressing a phone just very fast two times
    then there is 2 minuts break and it resume.
    so like 2 beeps every 2 minuts

  3. #33
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by phishphreek
    It could be kismet he's running on his computer. That makes quite a few beeps if you don't mute it. Kismet is used for finding and breaking into wireless networks.
    I was afraid of something like that
    so i taken security measure and dont use wifi at all for the moment

  4. #34
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    Ok after the Nuke when i Booted the pc i expected to get
    "No operative system found"

    But instead i got this flashing repeately:

    Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build 082)
    Copyright (C) 1997-2000 Intel corporation

    For Realtek RTL8139(X)/8130/810X PCI Fast Ethernet controller v.213 (0200326)
    PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
    PXE-MOF: Exiting PXE ROM.
    _

    Then i ran the Windows XP CD but aborted it to decide how to proceed
    Now upon booting i only get
    a flashing: _

    So today i put in the Recovery CD from HP
    but it wont autostart so i guess it will only work if there is a recovery partition on the Drive which is obviously nuked.

    So then how to proceed?
    Should i install the XP first and then put in the recovery cd?

    but then what about the recovery partitions
    or do i have to reserve a recovery partitions manually before Xp install?

    In other words the XP cd autostart the Recovery CD not
    what to do?
    Last edited by Scorpion999; September 22nd, 2007 at 08:11 PM.

  5. #35
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    Rerun the xp setup cd and follow the prompts to install the OS.

    The Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build 082) is the BIOS trying to boot from the network. It's last option and that is normally used in corporations to run remote install.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  6. #36
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by phishphreek
    Rerun the xp setup cd and follow the prompts to install the OS.
    Ok so i Will run the XP installation cd again
    do i only create One big partition then?
    i have no need of more partition except if HP need a smale one for recovery that i dont know ?


    Quote Originally Posted by phishphreek
    The Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0 (build 082) is the BIOS trying to boot from the network. It's last option and that is normally used in corporations to run remote install.
    In other words i should not worry about that part since i dont have inner network.
    and i will not conect the pc to internet just yet.

  7. #37
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    You can create just one partition to fill the whole drive. You don't need the recovery partition. Then, load the drivers that windows doesn't recognize. (from the recovery cd or download them if you have network) Then install all service packs and patches. Get it 100% updated. Then install all your programs and make sure you have all their updates too. If you're installing m$ office, be sure to visit windows update again for those service packs and updates.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  8. #38
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by phishphreek
    You can create just one partition to fill the whole drive. You don't need the recovery partition. Then, load the drivers that windows doesn't recognize. (from the recovery cd or download them if you have network) Then install all service packs and patches. Get it 100% updated. Then install all your programs and make sure you have all their updates too. If you're installing m$ office, be sure to visit windows update again for those service packs and updates.

    Thanks, Ok i will create just one Big partition
    but should i substract a amount for freespace partition I see factories do this.
    Say i have 95GB then i do 95GB- 204 Mb (for example)
    I dont care substracting 204Mb as long as it not show up as another drive.

    As for Windows update I have SP2 so i should download absolute ALL updates after SP2 or are there anyone i should Ignore (probaly the Drivers updates) ?
    I guess SP3 is not out yet so i have to install the updates one by one right?

  9. #39
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    No, use the maximum allowed. It will set that as the default. Yes, download ALL updates, including drivers and optional if you need those components.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  10. #40
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24
    Ok the hardisk said i had 95394 MB to partition
    but when trying to partition it only allowed 95386 MB (odd)
    so i removed the partition from the installation
    and now when creating a new it wanted to Format the partition.

    Ok so i am doing that now formating (not quick) the new partition.
    before the installation

    It is good atleast to learn how to format myself
    because before i always made the shop do that and now i can safe money
    and i guess that even if I format the partition again this will not undo the Dban nuke so i dont have to nuke it again
    Last edited by Scorpion999; September 22nd, 2007 at 11:09 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 02:51 PM
  2. Debate about Data Recovery after Format.
    By helloworid in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 30th, 2004, 09:27 PM
  3. Low Level Format
    By Death_Knight in forum Hardware
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2004, 04:00 AM
  4. how do i low level format?
    By hexadecimal in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 14th, 2003, 08:51 PM
  5. Batch File Tut
    By Badassatchu in forum Non-Security Archives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2001, 11:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •