NO antivirus on my computer - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 60

Thread: NO antivirus on my computer

  1. #21
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Yeah,

    I didn't mention it because there isn't a Vista version yet and that's what Moira is using.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  2. #22
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    I've actually installed nihil's link to the control panel for the Vista firewall. After some initial teething troubles, I have to report that it's working OK. The main problem is that "disable all" is the default and if you accidentally OK that, it's very difficult to reverse for something like say, firefox. The computer is so busy fielding attempts to connect that in the case of my laptop it's too "busy" for ages to allow me to alter the firewall interface. That and the odd blue screen or crash seem to have been the only problems and it's a hell of a lot easier than configuring the outbound side of the Vista firewall yourself.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  3. #23
    Senior Member kingkong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    197
    Hi guyz,

    I mistakingly put a very old CD of Data of my company in the computer and now my computer is creating worms

    multiple files


    Known as "thumb.db"

    and it is getting in each and every folder of my computer where ever there is a JPG file

    i need to remove this or else it will slow down the whole PC

    Regards
    KK
    Last edited by kingkong; January 7th, 2008 at 01:27 PM.
    Question is not "Why are you Online"
    Question is "Why are you Off line"

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    289
    Its not a virus.... thumbs.db is a file responsible for the display of thubnails on pictures you see...

    Its the database opf the thumbnails... and not a virus.
    "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler."

    - Albert Einstein

  5. #25
    Yeah, thumbs should be no threat.

    kingkong, I have managed my home computer the same way for quite some time now. Given I'm the only user, and I know how not to get myself infected, I find an AV solution to be an unnecessary consumption of resources (i.e. memory hog), so much like yourself, I just run the occasional online scan as well. I would say that's a pretty solid practice as long as you're confident that you really know what you're doing.

    But don't get cocky...even we get firmly reminded on occasion that pride comes before the fall. Always keep a watchful eye!

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    132
    Actually, McAfee is free and so is Symantec AV, with a catch. The US DoD has free versions of both programs and all their latest versions (personal, exchange, etc). They are free for military, and the military is allowed to give them away to friends and family at no cost. They are available on the Navy InfoSec website but you must be on a government network to access the downloads. Many people in the military don't even know this is available to them, so if you know anyone you can mooch off their benefits.

    Also, ClamAV is free and portable...

  7. #27
    Senior Member kingkong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    197
    well yeah thats a cool one

    thumb.db came from no ware

    i have just taken a look on the CD which was lying in the cubboard and when i openned it the PC went off i was in a suprise wat the hell happend
    i have around 17 mb of data of my accounting if that gets lost i would be in a greater problem with the company and myself i would have to do all the entries back to the system and after that also i dont know whether it is going to get tallied or not

    still i have back up of december so i can work out for the jan work only

    well when i started computer back to life i found this and the antivirus stopped working

    and i found this new unknown file in the folders of mine this thing really scared me and finally there is only one reliance to me AO

    thx to u guyz

    so now i have a clear picture of this thumb.db thing so i can work normal tommorow

    thx once again

    Regards and respect
    KK
    Question is not "Why are you Online"
    Question is "Why are you Off line"

  8. #28
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    kingkong you can stop these thumbs files being created. They can be a blessed nuisence for instance when you go to zip up a batch of photos and there's one of these thumbs files in with the zipped photos.

    Go to Folder Options > View, either from Explorer, or double click Folder Options in Control Panel. Check the radio button next to "do not cache thumbnails" and Windows will stop generating these files. I presume you have hidden files showing or you wouldn't be seeing thumbs.db, but if you've changed this setting then you need to be viewing hidden files and foldes to do this.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  9. #29
    0_o Mastermind keezel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,024
    I was under the impression that Kerio was no longer free. Currently I'm using Norton's 2k7 firewall which IMO is far superior to their previous version, but I am curious to know what decent free firewalls are out there now.

  10. #30
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    I was under the impression that Kerio was no longer free. Currently I'm using Norton's 2k7 firewall which IMO is far superior to their previous version, but I am curious to know what decent free firewalls are out there now.
    I use to use ZoneAlarm when it was free and it worked like a bomb I dont know if it is free anymore?

    Windows firewall is free ! Well not technically
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Autopsy of a successful intrusion
    By gore in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 13th, 2006, 04:06 AM
  2. how to finger a user via telnet
    By ai0070 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 18th, 2004, 11:21 PM
  3. Windows 2000 Tips
    By Nokia in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 12th, 2004, 05:13 PM
  4. Learning to program from a security point of view
    By hellforgedangel in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 29th, 2004, 10:58 PM
  5. Intro To Computer Building and Hardware
    By Status in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 4th, 2004, 03:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides