XP hard drive as slave to Vista
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: XP hard drive as slave to Vista

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429

    XP hard drive as slave to Vista

    Anyone know if I should expect any issues in connecting a hard drive with Windows XP on it as a slave to a computer with Vista? I'm not planning on dual-booting or anything, just looking for a cheap and effective way to transport data files (Office stuff, mostly) from the XP hard drive to the new Vista hard drive. I'd use one of those Easy Transfer cables, but the XP box doesn't run anymore...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    Well the first issue would be the boot order of hdd's. Other than that, you may need to monkey with permissions to copy the files in vista, which would have to be put back to their original state.
    Those are the only "issues" I have run across with the multiple data transfers that I have done in such a way.
    <chsh> I've read more interesting technical discussion on the wall of a public bathroom than I have at AO at times

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429
    I was hoping that nobody would mention "permissions"
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    The permissions on the XP drive should not be an issue. If you do run into problems then simply take ownership of the files.

    If you use EFS, make sure you decrypt your files before you attempt to transfer the files.
    Last edited by phishphreek; November 25th, 2007 at 02:02 AM.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Hi Dries,

    Should work fine.............. I did one on Monday

    As Phish~ says, the only issue would be with permissions and encryption. Just decrypt and take ownership mech and you should be OK.

    I looked at my mate's old box..................... it works again, now..........

    He is thinking of keeping the XP box for himself and giving the Vista one to his eldest

    Please tell us about the dead XP box
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429
    Thanks, phish and nihil - it's for a customer and I doubt he uses EFS!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    I should have been a little more clear, when I said permissions. I just meant that you may have to take ownership to back them up. If your just doing a backup, make sure to restore the ownership or your customer may not have access to their desktop or files. They get really mad when that happens, learned that the hard way.
    <chsh> I've read more interesting technical discussion on the wall of a public bathroom than I have at AO at times

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429
    Here's what happened:

    I go over there, expecting a semi-hard time...

    Turns out it's this beautiful Precision 490 (Man, I'd put that box in the middle of my living room!) with freaking Dual Xeon processors and 8Gigs of RAM. Customer didn't even opt for Vista, just XP! All I did was take out the old HD, and hook it up to the new puter... turns out the new one boots from the old hard drive (That wasn't cool - I boot up that freakingly-lookingly-new computer, and what does the customer see: the same thing they wanted to get rid off!)... I turned the Dell cables around, and it boots from the new one (I remember the days when you had to mess with jumpers and/or BIOS settings)!

    Then, it was just drag-and-drop...

    Thanks to all who have contributed to this succesfull enterprise

Similar Threads

  1. hard drive questions?
    By slinky2004 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 10th, 2005, 11:24 PM
  2. Retrieving data from old hard drive
    By dontease in forum Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 27th, 2005, 03:03 PM
  3. Concerning my hard drive partitions
    By gilgalad in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 7th, 2003, 09:02 AM
  4. Getting a bad hard drive to spin?
    By problemchild in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 4th, 2002, 12:36 PM
  5. Hard drive rip-offs...
    By K-Line in forum Non-Security Archives
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 21st, 2002, 10:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides