Microsoft time in Vista - its crazy.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Microsoft time in Vista - its crazy.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66

    Microsoft time in Vista - its crazy.

    Doing a file transfer across my network, PC to PC both in Vista Home Premium 32.

    The first 20-30 minutes of the file transfer was accurately timed, and then al of a sudden!

    http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e.../omg45417d.jpg

    And literally 2 minutes later.

    http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...nuteslater.jpg

    So..

    Anyone else have crazy Microsoft time like that ever?

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hey, zallison,

    It would be quicker to retype it

    I haven't seen it in XP Pro or 2000 Pro but there were some similar things back in the days of ME.............. I had one machine that even showed a negative swapfile bigger than the HDD!

    Nice one!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    rofl!

    Negative swapfiles! Would that be the tech equivilant of a bag of holding?

    Also, on the note of Microsoft time..

    I was simultaneously installing Win Vista Home Premium and WinXP Home on 2 different machines today. The Vista machine (I'm currently online with) installed in 20 minutes, and had 10 minutes to download the updates from windowsupdate...

    XP Machine is still downloading updates an hour later.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Ah!

    Please check out the MS update site. Look at the bit about remote updating for administrators or over a network. There is usually a cumulative patch that contains most of them

    You might even try using nLite to create a slipstreamed installation disk with the patches included.

    http://www.nliteos.com/

    for Vista you need vLite:

    http://www.vlite.net/


  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    zallison - Dont u use something like auto patcher? Is there an auto patcher version for XP?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hey Cider,

    Have you just come out of hibernation? It is some time since AutoPatcher got one of "those letters" from Microsoft's lawyers .............. "cease and desist"

    EDIT: Having had a think and another look I suspect that it has something to do with the fact that the first one didn't seem to have identified the precise path? As the second screen obviously had?
    Last edited by nihil; December 3rd, 2007 at 11:27 AM.

  7. #7
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hey Nihil :P

    Here in South Africa we dont have the privilege of Technology advances. I must read more on the net. Thank you for the constructive criticism.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Senior Member MadBeaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bath, Maine
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by zallison
    Would that be the tech equivilant of a bag of holding?
    When did you trade in your d20 for a mouse and keyboard.
    Mad Beaver

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Here in South Africa we dont have the privilege of Technology advances. I must read more on the net. Thank you for the constructive criticism.
    Just practise at losing at Rugby and Cricket?

    Muhahahahahahahahahah

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    I have vlite for my vista install, I was actually thinking of making a slipstreamed image later on this week when I had more free time.

    The Xp home install however was a pain, the customer that needed it done didn't explain that it was a upgrade disc, so I had to dig through the dusty box of software they gave me with it for the winME disc that they had.

    That annoyed me, and because of the "upgrade" key they had, I didn't want to dig one of my XP home discs out for the install, wasn't sure if an upgrade key would work with a retail disc.


    The first one doesn't show exact path, if you look close you'll notice I hadn't clicked more details.

    I looked at the details to find out what was going on with the net traffic, lol, but it was going 8-9mb a sec. who knows

Similar Threads

  1. Vista - Arrogance & Stupidity
    By acidtone in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: March 26th, 2007, 05:33 PM
  2. Microsoft Unveils Vista Workflow Developer!
    By Black Cluster in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 19th, 2005, 08:26 PM
  3. August security hotfixes
    By mohaughn in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 9th, 2005, 08:37 PM
  4. suse is crap on finding cdrom
    By rajunpl in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: July 1st, 2004, 08:30 AM
  5. microsoft buys the UN?
    By Tedob1 in forum Cosmos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2004, 02:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •