Dual boot - Vista and Fedora - How come it works for me?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Dual boot - Vista and Fedora - How come it works for me?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66

    Dual boot - Vista and Fedora - How come it works for me?

    Here's my question -

    How come, despite most everything I've read on the web about this, my dual boot of Vista Home Premium 32bit and Fedora 8 (Werewolf) x86_64 is working completely with no issues?

    I installed Vista first, used disk management to make a 64gb partition, put in my Live distro to load and configure my settings, then installed to the now unallocated partition. Grub installed to the MBR (this is where the web claims that the process fouls up) and I configured it to default to Vista - I share this PC with the family currently, and linux would make them panic - and did a reboot.

    Everything is working fine, its stable, no errors.

    Why is it working for me?

    (Below are the sites I visited to lead me to believe it was going to foul up somewhere.)

    http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=88029
    http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/howto-...sta-linux.html
    http://apcmag.com/5022/dualbooting_vista_and_linux
    http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=839960
    http://help.lockergnome.com/linux/du...ict468309.html

    Now, I had absolutely no trouble with anything other than an unallocatable 5mb sector of my HDD. (I assume this was unallocatable because it was needed to seperate the NTFS partitions from the linux partitions.) One sector, 5mb, big deal.

    None of the troubles I see other people having I'm experiencing at all. Now, I'm assuming (and inflating my own ego) that my expertise in Vista (lol) has let me somehow keep from misconfiguring something in the setup of the dual boot?

    Seriously, I see so many nightmares (and had 2 customers call in today with similar problems) but everyone swears that I have a fluke.

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hmmm,

    The only obvious thing that I can see which might explain it, is that you are running Vista 32bit and a 64bit Linux distro.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    I just don't see that being the solution. o.O

  4. #4
    Gray Haired Old Fart aeallison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, Missouri USA
    Posts
    888
    How come, despite most everything I've read on the web about this, my dual boot of Vista Home Premium 32bit and Fedora 8 (Werewolf) x86_64 is working completely with no issues?
    I don't see this as a problem. Your MY son !!

    Gore! My PFY this is where you come in, tell my son that if its working to leave it the f*** alone

    And heya nihil? Whats happinin?
    I have a question; are you the bug, or the windshield?

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi ae~ how are y'all?

    I see you've sent the apprentice for us to lick into shape

    Hey, za~ I wasn't saying that was a reason, as I have absolutely no technical argument to support that. It was merely an observation that in the threads you linked it seemed that the guys were all trying to dual boot 32 bit versions and you were not.

    It was the only obvious difference that I could see.
    Last edited by nihil; December 8th, 2007 at 04:39 PM.

  6. #6
    Gray Haired Old Fart aeallison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, Missouri USA
    Posts
    888
    Well he is making more money with his knowledge now than I do. Apprentice? nah... I would say closer to junior journeyman. But yeah... whip him into shape, show him no mercy... lol
    I have a question; are you the bug, or the windshield?

  7. #7
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Well he is making more money with his knowledge now than I do.
    Yeah, I bet. Anyway it is nice for a father and son to have at least one common interest, I never had any with my father.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    Lots of common interests actually.


    But, you're right that they were trying to do 2 32bit versions. I'm just puzzled, almost to the point that I'm willing to contact Microsoft to ask.

    "Hello, why can I dualboot your Vista OS and Fedora 8?"

    MS Rep - "We forgot to turn on the MBR Killswitch on your installation, we'll have that fixed shortly."

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by zallison
    Here's my question -

    How come, despite most everything I've read on the web about this, my dual boot of Vista Home Premium 32bit and Fedora 8 (Werewolf) x86_64 is working completely with no issues?

    I installed Vista first, used disk management to make a 64gb partition, put in my Live distro to load and configure my settings, then installed to the now unallocated partition. Grub installed to the MBR (this is where the web claims that the process fouls up) and I configured it to default to Vista - I share this PC with the family currently, and linux would make them panic - and did a reboot.

    Everything is working fine, its stable, no errors.

    Why is it working for me?

    (Below are the sites I visited to lead me to believe it was going to foul up somewhere.)

    http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=88029
    http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/howto-...sta-linux.html
    http://apcmag.com/5022/dualbooting_vista_and_linux
    http://forums.techarena.in/showthread.php?t=839960
    http://help.lockergnome.com/linux/du...ict468309.html

    Now, I had absolutely no trouble with anything other than an unallocatable 5mb sector of my HDD. (I assume this was unallocatable because it was needed to seperate the NTFS partitions from the linux partitions.) One sector, 5mb, big deal.

    None of the troubles I see other people having I'm experiencing at all. Now, I'm assuming (and inflating my own ego) that my expertise in Vista (lol) has let me somehow keep from misconfiguring something in the setup of the dual boot?

    Seriously, I see so many nightmares (and had 2 customers call in today with similar problems) but everyone swears that I have a fluke.


    Hi, I am a new Linux user and I also have VISTA home premium and a computer that is 32bit. I would like to install Fedora but I'm not sure how.
    Would you be able to provide me the steps you did to successfully install
    Fedora in my system? Thanks in advanced!!!

  10. #10
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Well, this is a first time for me... Someone complaining that something works right... But, to please you I can help:

    su
    rootpassword
    cfdisk
    delete
    enter
    rm -rf /*

    That should break it for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •