Doesn't Boot...Sometimes - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Doesn't Boot...Sometimes

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    316
    maybe its the windows

    i worked on one once where the comp wont bootup from standby or from hibernation. in the power settings for the battery after the timer for "stop hard disk" ran out abd the computer shuts down. this thing just wont start up again. one had to press the shutdown button and reboot.

    a fresh instillation corrected this.
    you are entering the vicinity of an area adjecent to the location.

  2. #12
    baggi,

    Does the same thing with two different hard drives, both fresh installs, so it's definitely not Windows.

    I'm going to try swapping RAM next. Expect a full report shortly.

    /edit

    No dice. Tried swapping out with two other memory sticks, and it wouldn't boot up at all. Booted up on the original one though. Go fig. Now I'm further baffled.
    Last edited by AngelicKnight; December 12th, 2007 at 06:36 PM.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    316
    AngelicKnight

    RAM shouldnt do this.

    as........ if RAM goes bad, it (comp) should start to beep (one beep one sec)

    my own laptop used to shutdown unexpectedly (specially during startups and sometimes during running some programs or game) and there would be no error messages (on the screen). the only indication was that the fan would spin like crazy and 5 seconds after that the laptop would shutdown.
    have tried swapping the RAM and the Hhd. nothing helped. the F*** thing would still shutdown.

    till.....just recently inserted the Hhd without the top cover, held in place with a tape, opened the laptop and cleaned everything as much as i could, specially the fans,connections and put that paste on the processor which nihil had recommended and suddenly everything was fine.......like magic.

    usually.... have seen one or the other kind of message pop up in the "event viewer" and have also noticed "dr watson" log something or the other.
    there is always someplace that it is logged whenever something goes wrong.

    let it give that horrible shutdown and after startup, get into the event viewer to check for "error messages"
    Last edited by bagggi; December 12th, 2007 at 06:39 PM. Reason: incomplete
    you are entering the vicinity of an area adjecent to the location.

  4. #14
    You'd think, but let's just say if the Event logs were any cleaner, they'd sparkle.

    NO LEADS whatsoever there.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there AK,

    I don't know the T41 so this is a pure guess:

    I suspect that this behaviour might be intentional? like back in the days of Windows 9x you would get a blue screen that said something like: "Windows was not shut down properly, I am now running scandisk."

    1. It works if you shut down properly.
    2. It works after a short delay.

    I think that it is a "feature" rather than a "fault"
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #16
    Indeed, I'm starting to suspect the same.

    Just cracked it open this morning to take a look too. Capacitors look ok, no bulging or leaking...

    /edit --

    Looks like we don't have our answer just yet -- It just failed to boot up after a normal reboot was issued.

    /and another edit --

    I think I'm on to something. Screen just went black with nothing but the "Z" power light lit WHILE I was in Windows. So I suspect it may very well be the monitor. After I took it apart the first time, after putting it back together and booting up, I noticed after a minute of normalcy all the colors jumbled on the screen. Took it apart again, reseated some connections, booted back up -- came up fine, until now.

    So maybe it's getting power ok, but just not displaying on occassion. Not sure -- the only thing that doesn't add it up is this time, while going black while in Windows, there's no hard drive action...no light, no drive spinning, nada, just like when it fails to boot up.

    Weird eh?
    Last edited by AngelicKnight; December 13th, 2007 at 10:02 PM.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,130
    AK it seems to be a MB problem. I've got this kind of error on desktop with bad motherboard problems (or perhaps PS). Computer only power on after 3 or 4 attempts. PS clicks, some fans start and... nothing. Sometime i need to unplug the power supply to MB reset. But since it is a IBM laptop perhaps it will better to send it to them
    Meu sítio

    FORMAT C: Yes ...Yes??? ...Nooooo!!! ^C ^C ^C ^C ^C
    If I die before I sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to encrypt.
    If I die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to brake.

Similar Threads

  1. Cisco help needed!!!
    By phishphreek in forum Network Security Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: August 13th, 2005, 10:34 PM
  2. Slack BSD
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 25th, 2005, 07:12 AM
  3. How to create a dual boot operating system for a new PC.
    By Computernerd22 in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 26th, 2004, 11:38 PM
  4. Win Emergency boot disks
    By xmaddness in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 29th, 2002, 02:31 PM
  5. Why Grub?
    By E5C4P3 in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 28th, 2002, 09:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides