Motherboard Nightmare 2
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Motherboard Nightmare 2

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    23

    Motherboard Nightmare 2

    Well, Ive finally got my collection of new bits working....in a fashion.

    It boots into windows...eventually.

    It responds to mouse clicks ...eventually.

    BUT, I cannot load the drivers from the mobo disc. It goes through the setup process which takes forever.

    Incidentally it took about 9 hours to install windows.

    I am totally at a loss now.

    Athlon AM2 4000 x2
    2x 512 ddr2 ram strips
    160gb sata drive

    All installed correctly as far as I am concerned.

    Any ideas

    I have biult this for someone and my reputation is falling apart here.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    23
    Just wondered .....could it be a weak power supply

  3. #3
    Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    797
    What is the wattage of your power supply? Do you know the requirements of your MB with that RAM, your HD and all the other peripherals?

    I wouldn't build a box with less than a 450watt PS.
    ddddc

    "Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    23
    Well this is what i am thinking.

    Its a micro atx with only 250watts.

    amd athlonx2 4000
    1gb ddr2 pc533
    160gb sata drive
    onboard sound and graphics
    fan on psu
    fan in case
    processor fan
    20 pin connector
    aux 12 v 4 pin connector

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Im trying to think of times I have seen something similar in the past... from what i remember it has mostly been a hard drive issue if all the hardware is new.. what kind of motherboard is it too?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Its a micro atx with only 250watts.


    I have biult this for someone and my reputation is falling apart here.


    shifty, it won't work. You need a proper case and PSU for proper kit. I was building them in the late 90's early 2000's with a 350w PSU, and those were only Athlon Xp and early P4's

    Also, why the hell would you want a micro ATX? Jeez............
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391
    Power supply just carn't keep it going captain. grab a nice 400w psu plug it in and feel the power.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Ouroboros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Superior, WI USA
    Posts
    628

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by nihil
    Also, why the hell would you want a micro ATX? Jeez............
    Hey!

    My mobo is a micro-ATX, and I've fitted all components to work with it. PSU, RAM, GPU, CPU, etc. It's a fast machine, and works properly all of the time. Don't hate on the older stuff, we can make it work properly.

    O
    "entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem"

    "entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity."

    -Occam's Razor


  9. #9
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Well,

    Power supply is usually a problem with microATX. Nothing to do with the MoBo; that is just a cut down version of a regular ATX, so you have fewer expansion slots, otherwise it should work the same.

    We had a guy here about a year back with microATX problems. He fitted an external 500w PSU and it ran just fine. Trouble was he couldn't find a PSU better than 250w in the microATX case format.

    This one sounds a bit different though? shifty said:

    It boots into windows...eventually.

    It responds to mouse clicks ...eventually.

    BUT, I cannot load the drivers from the mobo disc. It goes through the setup process which takes forever.

    Incidentally it took about 9 hours to install windows.
    That does not sound like a PSU problem to me.

    I would take a close look at the MoBo specifications and see if it supports that CPU and that RAM.

    I would like to know:

    1. The make and model of MoBo
    2. What version of Windows.

    @shifty,

    As a first move mate, go to the Crucial Memory site and use their memory finding tool to check what that MoBo is supposed to support:

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/?gclid=CJf...FQpBMAodylw1Xw

    You need to allow scripts

    @O~

    Don't hate on the older stuff, we can make it work properly.
    Yeah, I think that I have your previous box right here. It is a Gateway 2000.

    Cyrix (anyone remember them?) 386 CPU, 16Mb of 30 pin RAM in 4Mb strips.

    252Mb HDD.

    Boots Win95 (950B build 1212) and performs very much like shifty's box does at the moment
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    23
    STOP PRESS STOP PRESS STOP PRESS

    ok ITS OFFICIAL The board is fried...and apparently that in turn has overjuiced the processor in some way.

    R.I.P

    Oh yeah...and by the way...when I dismantled the thing today.....right under the board where the cpu is mounted, the board had a slight 'bulge' which was not obvious when looking before.

    So...top tip...if you get similar symptoms have a good look at the board....very close inspection reccomended.

    Thanks for all the tips people.


    I will be back....lol
    Last edited by shifty; December 18th, 2007 at 07:52 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Motherboard Nightmare
    By shifty in forum Hardware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 25th, 2007, 01:03 AM
  2. Hooking up a motherboard
    By dialupdaemon in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 28th, 2005, 09:41 PM
  3. Building You Own PC Part 2!!!
    By The Duck in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: March 1st, 2005, 10:22 PM
  4. motherboard lemon or winner?
    By socrates777 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2004, 03:32 PM
  5. Trying to figure a motherboard
    By socrates777 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 21st, 2004, 08:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides