Windows Vista, IE7, and Outlook Exchange 2003
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Windows Vista, IE7, and Outlook Exchange 2003

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66

    Windows Vista, IE7, and Outlook Exchange 2003

    My company uses exchange 2003 for our webmail.

    I use a Vista machine with IE7 in protected mode to check my mail from home, and a XP sp2 machine on a corporate network @ work.

    @Home I have one problem, I can't reply to any mail, the text field for the entry of text on replies (or any text entry anywhere) is seen as a red X (image not available)

    I've talked to coworkers with Vista, and we all have the same problem.

    In short, I know that the problem is with the combination of Vista and IE7. As IE7 on XP doesn't cause the problem (that I've seen.)

    Does anyone know of a solution?

    ----

    Firefox does allow me to reply, but I can't see mail in anything other than my Inbox, and I have email divided into folders for the group or person that sends me the mail, so this is a problem for reading.

    I haven't checked on Opera or my Wii, but I feel like a jackass checking corporate emails on a videogame system.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hmmmm,

    1. Does IE7 and XP work from home?
    2. Does Vista and IE7 work in the Office?
    3. Does FireFox work in the Office?

    Please try:

    1. Opera
    2. The thingy (Wii?)

    I feel like a jackass checking corporate emails on a videogame system.
    Nonsense! that is the sort of thing I would expect your dad to say...........me, I wouldn't even have thought of doing it!

    It is a perfectly valid and rather innovative diagnostic procedure.

    I suspect that it is rather more than Vista/IE7 as Firefox is not fully functional either. There seems to be some sort of connectivity issue as well?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    I use a Vista machine with IE7 in protected mode
    Its gotta a be a permissions thing...

    Try with an admin account and see if it works.... also check the vista firewall

    Sorry...dont know much about vista....just some ideas

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi MLF,

    By "connectivity" I was also thinking "permissions"............. that is why I was asking for a comprehensive test of as many combinations as possible, but remaining non-committal, as we Limeys do

    I find this interesting, and potentially very useful. The only Vista users I encounter at the moment are home or SOHO types, and have not had this problem.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Probably some new "security" feature

    I have heard the lessor versions are missing features...that were standard with previous MS OSes

    and you only get these "features" with the full product-Ultimate

    My hunch is Vista is blocking something...IE version for Vista also has added "features"

    Maybe try and lower the security settings in IE....or try adding the remote site to the trusted sites....

    That is why I suggested the admin account.

    This reminds me of the arguement "do we allow security to reduce functionality."


    My new lappy came with XP Pro...

    Phew..........

    MLF
    Last edited by morganlefay; December 18th, 2007 at 06:37 PM.
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    I don't have an XP machine at home to try it from, I can attempt with a 2k machine however.

    Vista Ultimate and IE7 I can try to see if its something missing in the Home Premium distro I use.

    I could try rebooting into Fedora also, and see if its there.

    Vista and IE7 does not work, period.

    I can read, but cannot reply. At work if I'm on a vista machine I have to log into a XP machine to do webmail stuff. I don't have access to use my Vista machines and Outlook as the install of office we're using is a corporate key, blah blah... And I'd rather own my own discs.

    I apologize if I'm not making much sense in this post, my 2yr old daughter is running around screaming at the top of her lungs for mommy, and mommy just went to the store.

    Anyhow...

    I can try Fedora, and the Wii.

    I don't have an XP machine to try it on, but tomorrow I can try a coworker's Vista Ultimate and Win2k machines.

    EDIT------

    Ok, everything works as its supposed to on the Wii.

    Typing is slow with point and click, but intelligent autofinish helps. and the resolution on the TV isn't as sharp as my nice samsung widescreen monitor.

    I don't understand why it works on the Wii but not my Vista machine.
    Last edited by zallison; December 18th, 2007 at 11:29 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    748
    This is a known problem.

    http://msexchangeteam.com/archive/20...16/431521.aspx

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/911829

    Your IE6 installation has activeX control for editing HTML enabled. This is disabled in Vista/IE7.

    There are a couple of different fixes, but I'm pretty sure the real fix is loading the new HTML editor onto your exchange server.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500
    Our webmail (exchange 2003) has an option for Premium or Basic login, and on my vista machine, I can only reply/send if I choose Basic (premium is default).
    Hope this helps
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    this does help, I can now respond. but I now have to learn my way around it again.

    As far as installing the update on the exchange server, I dont' think the IT crew in the corporate offices are gonna do that anytime soon. As far as they're concerned, I should be using Xp at home.

    Typical "VISTA BAD, LINUX GOOD" mind sets from those people.

    Sorry, its my job to troubleshoot Windows Vista machines, I think I'd like to know how to run the damn OS.

  10. #10
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    What helps??

    The login type..or the patches???

    You always gotta patch exchange....else it just doesnt work properly

    what I see is someone tighting the screws...without aligning the system first

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides