Is Vista Slow?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Is Vista Slow?

  1. #1
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190

    Is Vista Slow?

    Hi folks,

    Over the holiday period I have been working with a number of Vista installations. OK, nothing fancy, just setting up, wiring, finding drivers and that for the most part.

    What I have noticed in most of these is that it seems rather slow by comparison to Win 2000 and XP. The strange thing to me at least is that this does not seem to be directly related to the hardware specification.

    This really hit home when I was asked to help a friend with this new box. OK, not the sharpest tool in the shed, but it is an e-machine with an AMD 64 dual core (2.1Gig), a Gig of some sort of DDR2 and a 7200rpm SATAII drive.

    I was fixing his old machine which also has Vista Home Premium. Now this one ended up with 512Mb of PC3200 (DDR 400), has a Radeon 9250 (128Mb) video card, and a 7200rpm PATA drive. The processor is an Athlon single core (K7) running at 1.2Gig.

    The old machine does seem quite a bit faster???????????? could it just be all that preloaded junk that you get on store bought computers these days?

    The only real hardware difference I can see is that the new box has integrated graphics? Otherwise everything should be superior.

    Has anyone else noticed anything similar?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    Standard installation of Vista Home Premium 32bit (no customizing) has 150+ services on it.

    Now, 90% of the stuff on that E-Machine probably uses some additional services, in addition to dashboards and junk..

    The older machine with half the ram may have been slightly faster...

    Video.

    But honestly, its probably the difference of installation junk.

    A clean install is going to run faster 100% of the time versus some department store image.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Vista

    In vista there are alot of setting that are not on by defult like in device manager under the propertys of the harddrive there are advanced transfur setings that are not on buy defult that you may check .. in my experiance it helps alot .....

  4. #4
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Well I've only used it on someone else's machine, and it wasn't a fast machine to begin with, so I would say it was slow. I refused to have it on my newest PCs. I ordered them with XP Pro.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,052
    The reason it might seem faster on an older machine is when Vista is installed it sets the "recommended" visual settings automatically. So if it sees you have a slower cpu and older gfx card it will not have as many visual settings enabled.

    IMO vista is slow. I have tweaked vista before so it runs almost as fast as XP but I dont think I have go it to be the same yet.

  6. #6
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    They keep overtaking the plumbing more and more and all they end up doing is stopping up the drain. You have to admire that level of thick-headedness.

  7. #7
    0_o Mastermind keezel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,024
    New machines come preloaded with all sorts of trial-ware (as can be seen by the dozen or so useless icons for the trials). Some of these are in the startup list. There are also several unnecessary services that automatically start up that might be better to set on manual. Ex: DFS Replication, Diagnostic Policy Service, IKE and AuthIP IPsec Keying Modules, IPsec Policy Agent, RtmRm for Distributed Transaction Coordinator, Offline Files, Remote Registry, Tablet PC Input Service, Windows Error Reporting Service. IMO those can be set to manual start. Also, ReadyBoost and Terminal Service are sometimes best to have as a delayed start instead of straight automatic start.

    One thing I've heard but I'm not sure I believe is that currently Vista Home Premium uses a % of RAM instead of a specific amount, which when combined with integrated graphics pulling from the RAM for display can cause a machine to be quite sluggish. Again, just something I've heard and don't necessarily believe....I personally thought it simply needed a base of about 512mb.

  8. #8
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Well my friend's laptop which is running Vista has 512 meg of RAM and it was slower than government. Unbelievable, just opening up a single browser window took forever. Granted, by today's standards that's a pittance of RAM, but you should be able to open a single browser window without waiting 20 seconds. Vista is a memory pig

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Springfield, MO area
    Posts
    66
    512mb Ram on a Vista machine is like trying to fly a Boeing 747 with a 12hp lawnmower engine.

    Its just not gonna happen.

    Well, at least not well enough to use well.

    With 3gb of Ram and a 256mb video card on my Vista machine I'm running 1.2 gb of ram in use. I have IE open.

    Vista gets faster to use once it gets used to how you use your computer. Honestly.

    (Note I didn't say how much faster... )

  10. #10
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    That's why I'm glad I didn't get it. I run high RAM use programs to begin with. If I had Vista, I'd need 4mb instead of 2.

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone found a fix for the slow file transfer problem in Vista?
    By alakhiyar in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 12th, 2007, 09:42 PM
  2. Microsoft's new anti-piracy technology...
    By brokencrow in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 06:44 PM
  3. Cracking Windows Vista Beta 2 Local Passwords (SAM and SYSKEY)
    By Irongeek in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 07:17 AM
  4. It's getting closer and closer to upgrade time
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 11th, 2006, 12:32 AM
  5. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 04:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •