Installing a Sata drive ...
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Installing a Sata drive ...

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Installing a Sata drive ...

    Hey guys

    I was asked at work to put a harddrive into another machine, I thought this was all routine until I opened up box A which is a Pentium2 and found a Sata drive in it! It had an expansion card for the sata drive.

    Now Box B [Intel D815EFV-D815EPFV] where the sata HDD must go doesnt seem to boot up. I put in the same expansion card from A into box B and plugged all in the same.

    I am not too familar with sata drives so forgive me if I sound abit noobish

    Now when I turn on the PC I get a "BIOS is not installed" even though I can go into BIOS.

    Eventually I get a "Drive not found - System Halted" message and that is as far as it gets.

    Now how does it work with the expansion card - how do I install it in order for the sata drive to work. Or must I configure it some other way.

    Thank you.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    "BIOS is not installed" is probably a message from the controller card. I suspect it's one that allows you to boot from an SATA drive when the mainboard's bios doesn't have support for it.

    If the mainboard of B has a SATA controller onboard connect the drive to that.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    0_o Mastermind keezel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,024
    On box A:

    Was the drive actually working in this box? I'd be impressed if a box that old had a bios up to date enough to recognize that drive.

    On box B:

    Again I suspect maybe the bios needs to be updated to recognize it?

  4. #4
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    do you HAVE to use the old SATA HDD ?
    image it to a network share
    and drop in an IDE HDD in its place

    gotta be easier / quicker / CHEAPER
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi Cider,

    until I opened up box A which is a Pentium2 and found a Sata drive in it! It had an expansion card for the sata drive.
    Might I respectfully suggest that you have actually found SCSI rather than SATA?

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    That can happen to drives when you change controllers Disk Management in this case is your friend :-)

  7. #7
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    If the mainboard of B has a SATA controller onboard connect the drive to that.
    Neither mobo have slots, that is why there is an expansion card.

    On box A:Was the drive actually working in this box? I'd be impressed if a box that old had a bios up to date enough to recognize that drive.
    Yes it was working.

    foxyloxley:do you HAVE to use the old SATA HDD ?image it to a network share and drop in an IDE HDD in its place
    Well yes unless I order another one which im sure management wont be too impressed.

    Might I respectfully suggest that you have actually found SCSI rather than SATA?
    Im sure its a sata drive, Nihil you putting doubt in my mind! I have found the user manual and driver for the expansion card. "Press F6 to install Scsi or Raid drivers!"

    Well im going to try load the drivers for this card but im sure I will have to update BIOS.

    Can someone tell me why someone would put a sata drive in a Pentium 2 or is this normally the case?
    Last edited by Cider; January 10th, 2008 at 08:31 AM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    I just looked at the manual of that Intel board.. I assumed it was a new board but it's rather old (P3)..

    You may want to try setting "Scan user flash Area" to enabled in the boot menu of the BIOS. I'm guessing this will enable the BIOS on the controller card. Once that's working you should be able to detect the attached drive and boot from it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cider
    Can someone tell me why someone would put a sata drive in a Pentium 2 or is this normally the case?
    I can guess why... Smallest IDE disks still available are 40GB or more. The old P2 probably can't handle that. Sticking a controller and a drive in there can breath new life in an old machine.

    You may want to rethink your strategy. I replaced my old server board with an upgrade set, mainboard+processor+memory for about EUR160,-. That's for a Core 2 dual with 1GB memory.
    Last edited by SirDice; January 10th, 2008 at 08:40 AM.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  9. #9
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    I see - thank you Sirdice - I will do that later today.

    Thank yo for all the quick responses and replies.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 02:51 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 5th, 2004, 09:26 AM
  3. Installing Slackware Linux
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 17th, 2004, 02:29 PM
  4. Computer Upgrade & Replacment of parts
    By Raion in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 10th, 2004, 04:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •