Solaris 10 Install

Thread: Solaris 10 Install

Solaris 10 Install

So I finally decided to install Solaris 10 x86 on a machine just now. I went to my Mom's house earlier and grabbed the rest of my machines and started setting up more of them in the tech room, and my Wife was like "Well if You're going to reformat that one anyway and put a new OS on it why not put Solaris on it?" and I'm like hmm, I guess, why not?

I hadn't ever done it before, and I have the official DVDs from Sun, so I grabbed the one for PC hardware instead of Sparc and popped it in.

I think this is one of the easiest installs I've ever done. And considering the machine I'm installing it on is a P3 733 MHz box with 384 MBs RAM (meaning no GUI install because that requires 400 so it was text only) it went smooth.

So I'm finally going to take Solaris for a test drive after thinking about it and talking about it for like 3 years lol.

I have the developer tool kit too, but since I'm no coder I don't think I really need it.

It reminds me a lot of BSD, which should make sense considering Sun was founded by a guy who helped make BSD what it is now and the original SunOS was basically a version of BSD on the hardware they had...

Anyway, anyone else have or use Solaris? It's my first time (Wow been a while since I've uttered those words for just about any subject lol) so I'm not sure how it all works, but we have a lot of docs as my Wife is great at finding books online, but if anyone has tips I'm listening.

The install is still going right now, the box is old as crap, so I can't expect it to just instantly finish or boot, but it's going along just fine.

Anyway, it's Solaris 10, and my first time, I'm excited lol.

Good man yourself sir!

To be honest with you it has been a few years now, and I wasn't involved with the OS itself, only with supporting end-user apps that ran on it.

It reminded me of mainframes........... like you didn't have to even think about what the OS was?