Change VPN (and other Remote Access) passwords remotely? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Change VPN (and other Remote Access) passwords remotely?

  1. #11
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    If the company is big enough they'll probably use RADIUS or TACACS for the VPN authentication. That's easily setup and maintained from a central location.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by SirDice
    If the company is big enough they'll probably use RADIUS or TACACS for the VPN authentication. That's easily setup and maintained from a central location.
    I've heard of these, but don't know much, so I'll start googling! Just one question before I start though: Are they equally appropriate for outgoing VPNs (as in my scenario) as incoming VPNs?

  3. #13
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    They're usually used to authenticate incoming VPN requests.

    IF they have any Cisco equipment they'll probably be using Cisco Secure ACS server. This can also authenticate users to active directory making AD the central place for account management.

    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/...ides_list.html
    Last edited by SirDice; January 28th, 2008 at 12:20 PM.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by SirDice
    They're usually used to authenticate incoming VPN requests.
    Thank you. My research led me to that conclusion - so RADIUS or TACACS wouldn't be of any use in my scenario.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •