Ups driver
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Ups driver

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Ups driver

    Hi guys

    Im been searching for a driver for this thing for over two weeks now.

    Unable to find one.

    Tvr website does list it but no driver.

    GeniSAT 632 Series UPS

    Any help appreciated.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Cider! shame on you man!

    Might we be let into the secret of what operating system you are talking?

    Also, is it really a driver you are looking for, or is it firmware, or management software?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    For what OS?

    Maybe you don't need a driver?
    IIRC there's already support for UPS on windows.
    (Power Option Properties shows an UPS tab)
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Exactly my thinking, a UPS doesn't need a "driver" but it has firmware inside it and requires management software to run it.

    I am afraid you are on your own on this one............. that looks to be a South African only product.

    What makes you think that you need a driver? (or other software) what is the actual situation/problem?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    319
    UPS doesn't need a driver to work, but you do need a driver for monitoring. As was asked, what OS?

  6. #6
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    ROfl sorry guys!

    Im running Vista Business Sp1 RC

    But also for Xp.

    I have to test it for the office.

    I have no idea how to set this thing up.

    And yes I have gone through the tutorials

    Any pointers?

    Is there a USP selection in control panel?

    I connect the phyisical things through the UPS (power cables and network etc) and it the PC runs fine.

    Sorry for being a nooblet ...
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ouroboros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Superior, WI USA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider
    I connect the phyisical things through the UPS (power cables and network etc) and it the PC runs fine.
    Yep, that's what it's supposed to do. Which is...nothing until needed. If you want to test it, go to your power breaker box and turn the power off. If the computer keeps running, the UPS is doing exactly what it was made to do. Uninterrupted Power Supply.

    O
    "entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem"

    "entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity."

    -Occam's Razor


  8. #8
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    lol! cant do that here O

    What management software must I use for this thing?

    The people in the office are very vague with me, so dont think that I am being stupid not giving you information. Its these idiots!

    I did try some random management software downloaed from the net, cant remember what it was called. This particular program didnt detect the UPS.
    IT was connected via USB cable.

    Thanks for the replies.

    Any help appreciated.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ouroboros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Superior, WI USA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider
    lol! cant do that here O

    What management software must I use for this thing?

    The people in the office are very vague with me, so dont think that I am being stupid not giving you information. Its these idiots!
    I've never used a UPS, but I can't imagine what any monitoring software could do other than say, "Yep! It's there! The charge is at X%". The thing is basically just a big rechargeable battery that is constantly recharging through the power outlet in the wall. The only way to really test its functionality is to cut the power to that circuit and see if the UPS maintains power to the machine.

    The office folks are probably being so vague because they don't really know what the huge paperweight actually does, which is supply power to the machines when all of the lights go out. Other than a live test, there is no way to make sure it works correctly.

    The UPS doesn't interact directly with the OS (other than through the monitoring software described above). Its goal is simple. When the power goes out, it doesn't notice and keeps powering whatever is connected to it until power is restored and it can recharge its battery.

    O
    "entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem"

    "entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity."

    -Occam's Razor


  10. #10
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Alright , thanks O.

    So now onto Management software.

    Free software pref with is agreeable with Vista and Xp?

    Any suggestions?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 01:51 PM
  2. can't rid my computer of Spoton
    By rpgraff in forum Spyware / Adware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: August 24th, 2004, 08:01 AM
  3. Windows 2000 Tips
    By Nokia in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 12th, 2004, 05:13 PM
  4. Centrino Driver for Linux in Beta
    By SDK in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 11th, 2004, 01:48 PM
  5. Tcp/ip
    By gore in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 29th, 2003, 07:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides