installing hard disk external case
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: installing hard disk external case

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58

    Smile installing hard disk external case

    Hi I recently bought a 3.5HDD USB2.0 to IDE external case (jupiter, lexcron). However I have some problems installing the hard disk to it. I plugged in the power connector and the 40pin cable but the disk isn't detected. Instead my cd-rom (D:\)cannot be read due to I/O error while the usb is plugged in. Can anyone tell me how to install the hard disk into the eternal case? Do I have to do something about the jumper?
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    I have moved this into "hardware"

    Please check that the jumper on the drive is not set to "master".............. that is a fairly common cause of confusion.

    I am not sure why your CD drive is playing up, but it might be because the system isn't sure what the USB drive is.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    And if it is a western digital then take off the jumpers completely to set it to "single"

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58
    what should be the correct jumper configuration then? no jumper because its a slave?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    That would depend on the make and model of drive you have. The various settings should be marked on it.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Dead Man Walking
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    810
    Actually you would want to set the jumpers to cable select. I have worked with several brands of these adapters and that is what has always worked for me. I have had this exact same problem when trying to manually set the jumper config and it seems to just go away when you set it to cable select.

    All of this is of course assuming that you are using a relatively standard HDD on a windows based system. Not being super familiar with Linux and the way it addresses hardware I could not tell you for certain there. More details would be VERY helpful.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58
    I have plugged it into 'cable select' and fixed the problem. Thanks for all your advice.

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Slackware.
    By Riot in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: February 28th, 2005, 12:28 AM
  2. Slack BSD
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 25th, 2005, 07:12 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 5th, 2004, 08:26 AM
  4. Problem with Hard disk
    By bharat6666 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 1st, 2004, 11:02 AM
  5. Tutorial: Linux Installation -- RedHat 7.x -- i386 Arch.
    By MrLinus in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 10th, 2003, 01:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides