Crucial Domain Problem
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Crucial Domain Problem

  1. #1
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466

    Unhappy Crucial Domain Problem

    Guys!
    Everything was working fine when i came to office today and suddenly i came to know that the Group policy is not working properly and there was some other error messages in even log. So upon checking few settings and updating the DNS settings i made the worst mistake and restarted the server resulting now everything is messed up.

    I can't see network conenction and upon click refresh in network connection window i get error message "the folder is unable to retrieve the list of network adapters on your machine, please make sure that the network connections service is enabled and running"

    when i checked the services almost everything is in not running state and upon running the services like netlogon i get the error message "Error 1068 the dependency service or group failed to start"

    I am not been able to see the properties of any service as well.

    This machine is PDC, running DNS only.

    I am in a mess and need help, if you require further information do let me know.

    F A N A
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Dead network card?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    Nope both NIC working fine
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  4. #4
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    booted in safe mode, tried to restore last good know configuration but nothing works same problem in every mode. Can;t open properties, DNS giving error, no AD
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  5. #5
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    I made a changing in windows firewall: Allow remote administration exception option and enabled in using mmc, now i want to revert and just to see if that was the issue. But again i can't open the properties of this option.
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    102
    Well I found this link that has a couple of steps that might help, not sure thoug has no one has posted a follow up as to weather it worked or not... its worth a shot though...

    http://www.mcse.ms/message628311.html


    I also found this on Microsofts website doesn't exaclty state what happened to you but some of the symptoms sound the same...

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/329441


    hope that helps ... Good Luck
    LOGIN: yes
    PASSWORD: I dont have one
    "Login Failed"

  7. #7
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Ping

    Can you ping 127.0.0.1???

    Can you ping any internal machines???

    Can you ping the internet??


    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  8. #8
    Did someone said Pizza :) FanacooL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    466
    Well know i am able to see things but still one issue remaining, when i try to ping myserver from the same machine it resolve OLD IP address on the other hand when client ping myserver they get the orignal IP of the server. I run nslookup and its working fine, i think somehow the server IP got updated and still the record is not update in DNS.

    I have manually update the records but no use.

    Regarding not been able to access anything was the rpc logging error, this was resolved by changing the login account detail through registry: -

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\RpcSs\
    Object name key is logon account for the service.
    Changed it to original value "NT AUTHORITY\NetworkService

    But still that IP resolution issue is not resolved and still server resolving to old IP.
    One machine can do the work of fifty ordinary men. No machine can do the work of one extraordinary man!

  9. #9
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    ipconfig /flushdns

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  10. #10
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,252
    Your Time is off
    set a reliable time sorce then

    W32TM /resync /rediscover

    all done
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

Similar Threads

  1. The Problem of Evil
    By rcgreen in forum Cosmos
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: April 20th, 2007, 08:41 PM
  2. XP client domain account problem
    By mtbrider in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 25th, 2006, 04:59 PM
  3. The Problem Saga Continues
    By The Texan in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2006, 09:04 PM
  4. Read Me First
    By Negative in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2004, 02:09 AM
  5. C problem...
    By Rna in forum General Programming Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2002, 08:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •