blue screen of death
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: blue screen of death

blue screen of death

guys I am working with a dell xps 410 it boots up fine until it hits the login and takes a ****. some ware between the windows loading screen and the login screen it goes to the blue screen the error message says something like unable to mount disk volume but when i start it in safe mode it works fine. Now i was thinking virus so i scanned it with ad-ware and mcafee both with the latest signatures and nothing came up. then i tried to disable all startup programs and it tells me i do not have the permissions to do that that i must log into and admin account before those changes can be made but I am logged in as an admin I am gonna try a Linux boot disk now and see if it finds any thing. Any one have any ideas?

thank you,
    Riot

I believe dell has built in diagnostics, try tapping the different F keys while it is booting... it seems like it might be F12 that will pull up a boot menu for diagnostics, etc. In fact here is a link that will guide you through getting the diags to run:

http://www.cs.utexas.edu/~deke/lapto.../d600/diag.htm

I would run through that just to make sure there is not a hardware issue.
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

-HST

AOs Resident Troll
    Obviously a windows machine???

Version?? 2000,XP (does vista BSOD??)

Any new hardware installed recently?

Just dealt with some camera software crashing a 2000 machine....recently installed a new camera and software that came with it

Removed all the software that came with the camera...machine stopped crashing.

If the machine boots into safe mode....check the event log.

Sounds like a bad driver....or buggy software.

MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

o sorry its windows xp pro media, nope no new hardware. but i will take a loot at the driver but they should be up to date.